Since when are activation codes country specific?

InCole

Hey everyone!

So I've been using Kaspersky Internet Security now for the past 20+ years if not even longer. I have two PC's in UK I use it for and one PC in Belgium I use it for (I travel for work and spend time in both countries thus have a permanent home office setup in Belgium too)

I always just buy the 3 PC 1 or 2 year activation code for Kaspersky Internet Security and I've bought it sometimes in Belgium, sometimes in UK and activated all 3 PC's without issue for the past 20+ years

Well my licence expired, bought a new code from an official boxed key at a PC store here in UK for 3 PC's 2 years of KIS. Activated my two PC's in UK no issue now trying to activate my PC in Belgium and it is saying code invalid for region??? Since when are Belgium and UK not the same activation region and why does it say region (country), that's two different things. Is it region OR is it country? If it is country, since when are keys country bound that's ridiculous!!!

Hello @InCole

Welcome!

1. We've also been with Kaspersky for a very long time, although not 20years; the limitation has been in place for as long as we can recall; it's explained in: "Activation code is invalid for this region" error - on the support page, select Chat or Email, then fill in: Activation and license issues, Activation code is invalid for this region template. 
  2. Also, the Kaspersky support team may be able to answer the region & country questions. 

Thank you?
Flood?+?

16 hours ago, Flood and Flood's wife said:

Hello @InCole

Welcome!

1. We've also been with Kaspersky for a very long time, although not 20years; the limitation has been in place for as long as we can recall; it's explained in: "Activation code is invalid for this region" error - on the support page, select Chat or Email, then fill in: Activation and license issues, Activation code is invalid for this region template.