Kaspersky Plus is slowing down my computer

Go to solution Solved by harlan4096,

I have been using KIS for more than 10 years, and on this pc for 3 yrs. Not a single problem. 

My 3 yrs of KIS expired. And I switched to Plus due to additional VPN service. Once I switched to Plus, i don't notice anything right away. But it is slowing down my computer more and more everyday. Now, it gets pretty obvious. 

e.g. when I open youtube.com in chrome, the webpage stuck for about 2 seconds, then all the content shows. Even more ridiculous, when I open task manager, it also stuck for 2 seconds. And some icons start to stop responding for a few seconds now. I just tried to pause the Kaspersky Plus so I can test if it is the reason. Then that "Pause Protection" gets stuck for 5 seconds. It's like your desktop got frozen you can't click at anything. 

Once it's paused, everything goes back to normal. This is really getting into my way now. Never had any of this problem with KIS. I already turned off "Safe Browsing", "Mail Anti-Virus","Anti-Phising" and all that crap. It is still the same. 

So could any one tell me compares to KIS, what are the additional features so I can turn them off to get my KIS experience back. VPN speed is kind of ridiculous. I wish I bought 3 yrs of KIS instead. 

I see "System Watcher" and "Instrusion Prevention" that might be the problem. Are they really necessary?

Thx in advance.

I downloaded installer and installed Kaspersky Plus. During the installation, KIS was automatically uninstalled as I know.

However, plus took over all the settings, rules and quarantines from KIS.

Edited by K0908

Since I don't really notice any difference after the plus installation. It's more of a gradual process. And during the installation it says it will uninstall KIS then did the installation. I don't believe it's an "update" per se.

I am just wondering is there any list of features additional to KIS so I can try to turn them off?

• Solution