Huge quarantine file needs removing

annewilson
Go to solution Solved by annewilson,

I have a 126 GB klq file in C:\ProgramData\Kaspersky Lab\AVP21.3\QB.  From the main A=KAV interface there is no listed quarantine backup file.  File Manager sees the file, but resists all my efforts to delete it.  I am an administrator on the laptop, but am told I do not have the relevant permissions.  How can I get rid of this file?  It takes up half of my drive space.

Hello @annewilson

Welcome!

1. On the Windows taskbar or hidden icons, rightclick the Kaspersky icon, select Pause protection, select Exit, delete the file or, run the system in SafeMode & delete the file. 
  2. After deleting the file, shutdown the machine, using Shutdown, not Restart, power on, login, make sure KAV is started & protection is re-enabled

Any problems or questions, please post back?

Thank you🙏

Flood🐳+🐋

Additional resource:

Read before you create a new topic!

Despite all Google’s attempt to help, I’m still not managing to enter Safe Mode.  After the Troubleshooting selection it lists a number of tasks, saying that to do those I must press Restart.  When I do I seem to get a normal restart.  The only difference I can see is that I’ve slightly more free space on C: than I had, which may mean drivers not loading?  I’m struggling.

Whatever - I still get the same permissions message.

The laptop is an Acer Aspire 7.

Hello @annewilson

To enter Windows Safe Mode follow the images & these instructions:

• Image 1 → in Windows Search🔎 type     msconfig   → select the System configuration app, select Run as administrator. 
  • Image 2 → in the System configuration application, select the Boot tab, tick Safe boot, select Apply, select OK.
  • Image 3, in the System configuration restart prompt, select Restart.
  • The machine will start in Safe mode.
  • Delete the file. 
  • Check the storage to make sure the 126 GB file has been deleted. 

To revert Safe mode to normal mode: