Jump to content

How can I deactivate Kaspersky Plus on one of my devices


Go to solution Solved by Flood and Flood's wife,

Recommended Posts

Basamaca
Posted

Currently I have Kaspersky Plus 1 year for 5 devices subscription license. It is installed on 4 devices out of 5 (two desktop PCs and two laptops).

I want to start fresh on one laptop and do a refresh install of Windows 11 removing both apps and personal files. After that I plan to sell that laptop.

Do I have first to deactivate Kaspersky Plus license on that device in My Kaspersky account before refresh install?

I looked in My Kaspersky account under Devices. I can see that laptop there, but I do not see an option to delete it to release one license for future use.

What would be the preferred way to accomplish what I described?

 

 

Flood and Flood's wife
Posted (edited)
47 minutes ago, Basamaca said:

Currently I have Kaspersky Plus 1 year for 5 devices subscription license. It is installed on 4 devices out of 5 (two desktop PCs and two laptops).

I want to start fresh on one laptop and do a refresh install of Windows 11 removing both apps and personal files. After that I plan to sell that laptop.

Do I have first to deactivate Kaspersky Plus license on that device in My Kaspersky account before refresh install?

I looked in My Kaspersky account under Devices. I can see that laptop there, but I do not see an option to delete it to release one license for future use.

What would be the preferred way to accomplish what I described?

Hello @Basamaca

Welcome back!

In (your) MyKaspersky account - Devices tab - for the *actual* device - there's no Disconnect Device option?

READ: How to disconnect a device from your account

Can you post a screen-image the same as ours below please?

image.thumb.png.daa546b60715a123c89c0bcd08533e99.png

Thank you🙏
Flood🐳+🐋

Edited by Flood and Flood's wife
ADDED How to disconnect a device from your account
  • Like 1
Basamaca
Posted

Sorry, there is Disconnect Device option. I did  not click on the specific device. Have a look at screenshot.

So, should I do that first and then that what I described?

Screenshot 2026-07-20 at 22-55-29 Devices.png

  • Thanks 1
Flood and Flood's wife
Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, Basamaca said:

Sorry, there is Disconnect Device option. I did  not click on the specific device. Have a look at screenshot.

  1. So, should I do that first and then that what I described?

 

Hello @Basamaca

Thank you for posting back & the information! Well done!

Yes, exactly!

  • In the clean-up, we're assuming (you're) using the Remove everything option, also remember to enable Encryption & make sure Cloud syncing is not available. 
  • Obviously when the machine is prepared it's best not to use it *again*, otherwise it'll need to be cleaned again. 

Thank you🙏
Flood🐳+🐋

Edited by Flood and Flood's wife
grammar - again
  • Like 1
Basamaca
Posted
10 hours ago, Flood and Flood's wife said:

In the clean-up, we're assuming (you're) using the Remove everything option, also remember to enable Encryption & make sure Cloud syncing is not available. 

  • Obviously when the machine is prepared it's best not to use it *again*, otherwise it'll need to be cleaned again. 

Thank you🙏
Flood🐳+🐋

Yes, I will choose the Remove Everything option.

Why should I enable Encryption? I never used Encryption on any of my PCs/laptops (if you mean BitLocker?). I have always used to regularly make full Acronis backups of drives so in case of ransom infection I could easily revert back in time before attack. I make Acronis backups on external USB drives and I don't have Acronis cloud storage space.

Also, after Removing Everything there will be nothing left on the machine except OS itself. There will be no app that could initiate cloud syncing like Microsoft OneDrive.

  • Thanks 1
  • Solution
Flood and Flood's wife
Posted
3 minutes ago, Basamaca said:

Yes, I will choose the Remove Everything option.

Why should I enable Encryption? I never used Encryption on any of my PCs/laptops (if you mean BitLocker?). I have always used to regularly make full Acronis backups of drives so in case of ransom infection I could easily revert back in time before attack. I make Acronis backups on external USB drives and I don't have Acronis cloud storage space.

Also, after Removing Everything there will be nothing left on the machine except OS itself. There will be no app that could initiate cloud syncing like Microsoft OneDrive.

Hello @Basamaca

Thank you for posting back! 

Follow whichever steps / processes that have worked for (you) in the past - what we've shared is part of what we do when we clean / prepare a machine that will be no longer ours, sold / given to another person. 

Thank you🙏
Flood🐳+🐋

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...