Since re-installing Kaspersky Total Security MS Word 2000 no longer runs. Windows cannot access the specified device,path, or file.

Clearcomms

My OS is MS Win 10 Home X64 Build 18362, and I am using KTS 20.0.14.1085 (d) My KTS subscription ran out yesterday - the renewal price was silly, so I bought a new licence for about a third of the price, uninstalled KTS and re-installed it with the new key. Everything seems to be working fine - except for MS Word. I have MS Office 2000 Premium edition, which I have been using on my computers for some 18 years. Its other programmes - Access and Excel for example - still work perfectly, but when I try to open Word I get an error message saying "Windows cannot access the specified device,path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permission to access the item." Even clicking on the actual EXE file produces the message - and Word was working perfectly yesterday before my new Kaspersky installation. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing Office, but nothing has changed. Any suggestions as to how I can get Word back, please?

Hello Clearcomms, Welcome!
  1. Are there a any errors in Windows Event logs & or Kaspersky Reports?
  2. If you run Windows in SafeMode with Networking, does the "Windows cannot access the specified device,path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permission to access the item" error happen?
  3. If KTS is disabled, does the error happen?
Please let us know? Thank you:pray_tone3: