Quick Scan files number changes

i_salazar

Hi all, 

I’m fairly new to using Kaspersky Total Security so apologies if this is a basic question, but I wanted to ask about the Quick Scan. I know it doesn’t check every file on my laptop but ever since I’ve been using the program, the number of files scanned started to slowly grow, which made sense: I download new files, install new programs/apps, so more files get created that the Quick Scan looks through. 

I ran a Quick Scan four days ago and the number of files scanned was around 5,120 but when I ran another scan today, the number of files dropped down to about 4,917. I’m sure it’s no big issue, but what could be the reason for why the number of files dropped? I’m guessing some files that remain unchanged or safe after a few scans are ignored by the Quick Scan? Thank you!

I ran a Quick Scan four days ago and the number of files scanned was around 5,120 but when I ran another scan today, the number of files dropped down to about 4,917.

Hello @i_salazar

Welcome!

• As a test, with (our) KTS set at Default settings, we ran two Quick scans, one after the other, the KTS Scan report images shows the result; noting, we made no changes between running the two scans

• Quick Scan. Scans objects that are loaded when the operating system starts as well as system memory, boot files & temporary Internet files . This scan does not require a lot of time to complete → Some of these are dynamic, e.g. temporary Internet files, i.e. change all the time. 
  • Do not be concerned, if the scan result is clean the system is fine. 

Best practice tips:

After installing KTS:

1. Run a manual Database update.  
  2. Shutdown, power OFF system using  Shutdown, not Restart, power on., login. 
  3. Make sure KTS is running. 
  4. Check version & patch(x) x = letter - on the Windows Taskbar, or hidden icons, rightclick the Kaspersky icon, select About ? (Always try to have the software on the latest available patch).