Quarantine - The file cannot be restored to the original folder. A file with that name already exists in the original folder.

Hello everyone, 

I am new to Kaspersky therefore trying to understand product.  A have a couple of questions/issues with Quarantine.

1. What’s in Quarantine is only a “COPY” of the original file?  What happens to original file that’s left in the original location?  So now I essentially have 2 files, 1 in original location and 1 in Quarantine, is that right?

Another point, so I have 8 files in quarantine, which I want to restore (they are false positives - they are good files); however when I click on restore i get the following message: 

“The file cannot be restored to the original folder.  A file with that name already exists in the original folder”.  This notification would make sense because it’s attempting to restore the “copy” back to original location where the original file is still there. Does that mean i would to restore the “copy” to another location?  So which file would I keep, the restored one or the original file in the original folder location?

I guess I’m trying to understand how Kaspersky handles the quarantining of files, seems confusing to me.  Can anyone clear this up for me?

@MOY_MORAGA Can you please submit the file located in the original folder here https://opentip.kaspersky.com

Hi Berny,

The files are false positives, these are files i have downloaded long ago.  There were app files for my Galaxy phone.  I only tried the Zip files which gave me the error message.

Here is a snip it of my quarantine:

Here is the message when i try to restore the Zip files:

I went ahead and set you the file as requested.  Thank you so much in advance. ☺

Hello @MOY_MORAGA,

Please let us know?

Thank you🙏

Flood🐳

@MOY_MORAGA Can you please submit the file located in the original folder here https://opentip.kaspersky.com

Hi Berny,