Program menu will no longer appear

Jeff

I am running updated and current Win 10 on a PC. Kaspersky Total Security is running in the background but the program menu will no longer appear whether I try to use the start menu or the right click popup in Win Explorer. The system tray icon has also disappeared. I have rebooted twice with the same result. I don't know if this has anything to do with it but this all started about a week ago when I updated PDF-XChange Editor and it requested to close Kaspersky to install the update. Stupidly, I agreed. I've been using PDF-XChange Editor for a couple of years and I'm confident it's not a malicious program. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Hello Jeff, Welcome!
  1. PDF-XChange Editor should not need, nor ask for KTS to be terminated for it's software to be safe.
Can you tell us the name of the site where the PDF-XChange Editor update was sourced from please? PLEASE DON'T POST the actual site URL: please PM this information to me in case the site is unsafe and to make sure we don't break any Community guidelines (like "advertising") May we have: Screen prints of:
  1. "Program menu will no longer appear when accessing start menu"?
  2. "Program menu will no longer appear when when accessing right click popup in Win Explorer"?
  3. Has the "whole system tray icon" disappeared? If YES, please provide a screen print?
--------------
  1. Please generate a GSI & Windows logs, upload the .zip to cloud storage of your choice and post back the link please? https://support.kaspersky.com/common/diagnostics/3632#block7
  2. In KTS REPORTS, are there any events that represent the issue? If YES, can you export those events, save as a text file & upload using the UPLOAD icon below?
  3. Have there been any other software, harware, network changes in the timeframe just preceeding the issue that may shed light on this issue? If YES, please detail those changes?