IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> KES10SP2 - Executable files is empty [In progress]
Fernando182
post 20.04.2017 21:57
Post #1


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 3.05.2013




Hello,

I installed KSC10SP2MR1 + KES10SP2 on some customers and I noticed that "Executable files" is empty in all of them. It is empty in both sides (KSC and in the properties of a computer). And yes, I marked the checkbox "About startup applications" in KES10SP2 Policy.

Is this a known issue?

Anyone else check this in your environment?

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Fernando182: 20.04.2017 22:05
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikolay Arinchev
post 21.04.2017 02:43
Post #2


Technical Support Specialist
**************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 11989
Joined: 5.10.2009




Hi,

Could you please clarify what version of Netwok Agent is used?
Could you please confirm that Application startup control is installed and enabled?

Thank you!


--------------------
In english: GSI report | AVZ report | KSC10 Traces | KES10 Traces | KSC9 Traces | KES8 Traces(RUS) | klnagchk log(RUS)

На русском: Отчет GSI | Лог AVZ | Трассировки KSC10 | Трассировки KES10 | Трассировки KSC9 |Трассировки KES8 | Отчет утилиты klnagchk

Подписаться на новости о корпоративных продуктах

Please evaluate support help by using "Rating" option!
Пожалуйста, оцените оказанную помощь, используя опцию "Rating" в названии топика!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fernando182
post 21.04.2017 17:28
Post #3


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 3.05.2013




QUOTE(Nikolay Arinchev @ 20.04.2017 19:43) *
Hi,

Could you please clarify what version of Netwok Agent is used?
Could you please confirm that Application startup control is installed and enabled?

Thank you!


These installation are new, so network agent is the same version of KSC (10.4.343);

Application startup control is installed but not enabled (that is the default after creating the policy).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kirill Tsapovsky
post 21.04.2017 17:52
Post #4


Technical Support Specialist
***************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 12271
Joined: 3.12.2013
From: Moscow




QUOTE(Fernando182 @ 21.04.2017 16:28) *
These installation are new, so network agent is the same version of KSC (10.4.343);

Application startup control is installed but not enabled (that is the default after creating the policy).


Hello.

Application Startup Control is reponsible for collecting information about executable files and linking them with the application entries. Unless you have it enabled, have the option "Notify Administration server about started applications" turned on in KES policy, and perform the Inventory task, this is the expected behavior.

Thank you.


--------------------
In English: GSI report | AVZ report | KSC10 Traces | KES10 Traces | KSC9 Traces | KES8 Traces | klnagchk log
На русском: Отчет GSI | Лог AVZ | Трассировки KSC10 | Трассировки KES10 | Трассировки KSC9 |Трассировки KES8 | Отчет утилиты klnagchk

Пожалуйста, оцените оказанную помощь, используя опцию "Rating" в названии топика!
Please evaluate support help by using "Rating" option!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fernando182
post 22.04.2017 01:10
Post #5


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 3.05.2013




QUOTE(Kirill Tsapovsky @ 21.04.2017 10:52) *
Hello.

Application Startup Control is reponsible for collecting information about executable files and linking them with the application entries. Unless you have it enabled, have the option "Notify Administration server about started applications" turned on in KES policy, and perform the Inventory task, this is the expected behavior.

Thank you.


Sorry, but I disagree.

One of the customers have some computers running Windows Vista, so I installed KES10SP1 MR3. The Application Startup Control is not enabled and I can see a list of executable files on the properties of this computers running Vista (without running Inventory task).

Before KES10SP2, I just turned on "inform about startup applications" on policy.

So, this behavior was changed in KES10SP2 or is a bug.


Regards,

Fernando.

This post has been edited by Fernando182: 22.04.2017 01:18
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dmitry Eremeev
post 22.04.2017 08:51
Post #6


Technical Support Specialist
**************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 11386
Joined: 30.07.2014
From: Moscow




QUOTE(Fernando182 @ 22.04.2017 00:10) *
Sorry, but I disagree.

One of the customers have some computers running Windows Vista, so I installed KES10SP1 MR3. The Application Startup Control is not enabled and I can see a list of executable files on the properties of this computers running Vista (without running Inventory task).

Before KES10SP2, I just turned on "inform about startup applications" on policy.

So, this behavior was changed in KES10SP2 or is a bug.
Regards,

Fernando.


Hello,

Please do the following just for troubleshooting reasons:
1. enable APC
2. perform an inventory task
3. check "Notify Administration server about started applications" in KES policy
Will executable files be in wished place ?
Thank you.


--------------------
In english: GSI report | AVZ report | KSC10 Traces | KES10 Traces | KSC9 Traces | KES8 Traces(RUS) | klnagchk log(RUS)

На русском: Отчет GSI | Лог AVZ | Трассировки KSC10 | Трассировки KES10 | Трассировки KSC9 |Трассировки KES8 | Отчет утилиты klnagchk

Подписаться на новости о корпоративных продуктах

Пожалуйста, оцените оказанную помощь, используя опцию "Rating" в названии топика!

Please evaluate support help by using "Rating" option!


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fernando182
post 24.04.2017 17:21
Post #7


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 3.05.2013




QUOTE(Dmitry Eremeev @ 22.04.2017 01:51) *
Hello,

Please do the following just for troubleshooting reasons:
1. enable APC
2. perform an inventory task
3. check "Notify Administration server about started applications" in KES policy
Will executable files be in wished place ?
Thank you.


Hello,

Yes, the list was filled up after running Inventory task.
Before KES10SP2 I needed only to check "Notify Administration server about started applications" in KES policy. Like I said above, I can see the list of the applications on "Executable files" (WITHOUT running inventory task) on properties of these computers running KES10SP1MR3.
As far as I know the inventory task is a way to accuracy the informations and/or to speed up the filled up about "Executable files".

But my question is: This behavior was changed in KES10SP2? Now in SP2 I need to run inventory task to fill that?

Best regards,

Fernando.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dmitry Eremeev
post 24.04.2017 18:24
Post #8


Technical Support Specialist
**************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 11386
Joined: 30.07.2014
From: Moscow




QUOTE(Fernando182 @ 24.04.2017 16:21) *
Hello,

Yes, the list was filled up after running Inventory task.
Before KES10SP2 I needed only to check "Notify Administration server about started applications" in KES policy. Like I said above, I can see the list of the applications on "Executable files" (WITHOUT running inventory task) on properties of these computers running KES10SP1MR3.
As far as I know the inventory task is a way to accuracy the informations and/or to speed up the filled up about "Executable files".

But my question is: This behavior was changed in KES10SP2? Now in SP2 I need to run inventory task to fill that?

Best regards,

Fernando.


Hello,

yes, inventory task is a necessary condition.
Thank you.


--------------------
In english: GSI report | AVZ report | KSC10 Traces | KES10 Traces | KSC9 Traces | KES8 Traces(RUS) | klnagchk log(RUS)

На русском: Отчет GSI | Лог AVZ | Трассировки KSC10 | Трассировки KES10 | Трассировки KSC9 |Трассировки KES8 | Отчет утилиты klnagchk

Подписаться на новости о корпоративных продуктах

Пожалуйста, оцените оказанную помощь, используя опцию "Rating" в названии топика!

Please evaluate support help by using "Rating" option!


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fernando182
post 25.04.2017 17:49
Post #9


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 87
Joined: 3.05.2013




QUOTE(Dmitry Eremeev @ 24.04.2017 11:24) *
Hello,

yes, inventory task is a necessary condition.
Thank you.


Hello,

Sorry, but I can see this "change" on release notes and neither in known issues and limitations.

I insist, in the versions KES10 MR1, KES10SP1/MR1/MR2/MR3 the started up applications were notified to administration server just marking "about startup applications" on KES policy, in other words, I didn't need to run inventory task.

Best regards,

Fernando.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anguel
post 30.05.2017 13:53
Post #10


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 26.12.2009
From: Germany / Bulgaria




This is definitely a bug. This worked before SP2 but now the started applications are not transferred to the KSC anymore.
Running the inventory task manually does not solve all problems: I also have batch files on a server being blocked from start and they don't appear in the started applications list so I cannot add them to "trusted group" through privilege control. Arrgh.
The product is so complex and buggy that it is not usable anymore. I have spent so much time with all those bugs and new ones reappear with every update :-(
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Anguel
post 30.05.2017 15:17
Post #11


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 116
Joined: 26.12.2009
From: Germany / Bulgaria




UPDATE: I turned on "Application Startup Control" and now it seems to populate the started apps list. However I find it still confusing as I don't use "Application Startup Control" but only "Application Privilege Control".
There are some overly-complex dependencies in this product that should be stated more clearly...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kirill Tsapovsky
post 30.05.2017 16:08
Post #12


Technical Support Specialist
***************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 12271
Joined: 3.12.2013
From: Moscow




QUOTE(Anguel @ 30.05.2017 14:17) *
UPDATE: I turned on "Application Startup Control" and now it seems to populate the started apps list. However I find it still confusing as I don't use "Application Startup Control" but only "Application Privilege Control".
There are some overly-complex dependencies in this product that should be stated more clearly...


Application Startup Control is responsible for establishing connection between application registry and executable files registry. This is required to categorize applications and effectively control their startup and activity.

Thank you.


--------------------
In English: GSI report | AVZ report | KSC10 Traces | KES10 Traces | KSC9 Traces | KES8 Traces | klnagchk log
На русском: Отчет GSI | Лог AVZ | Трассировки KSC10 | Трассировки KES10 | Трассировки KSC9 |Трассировки KES8 | Отчет утилиты klnagchk

Пожалуйста, оцените оказанную помощь, используя опцию "Rating" в названии топика!
Please evaluate support help by using "Rating" option!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24.06.2017 09:30