Steve MacLellan

KTS 2017 suddenly fails to update when prior update ran correctly - toggling setting "Use/do Not use proxy server" [moved]

Kaspersky Total Security 2017 failed/refused to update this morning (29 Oct 2018) when the previous update (performed yesterday, 28 Oct 2018) ran correctly. This is the second time this year this has happened.  I have been using Kaspersky for more than 10 years, have been extremely satisfied with their products and product support, and have never had any issues/problems until these two recent fail to update events.  Kaspersky's people responded to the first event by stating that I needed to install the 2017 version of Kaspersky Total Security, which in fact was already installed and running, so that part of their response wasn't helpful. However, in that same response they also said to change the setting for use of a proxy server to "do not use proxy server", which I did try, and that solved the problem.  Today, 29 Oct 2018, Kaspersky again refused to perform the routine update, when the update done yesterday worked correctly.  Before contacting Kaspersky again on this issue, I went to the proxy server setting, changed it back to "use proxy server", and the update went forward as it should.  My question is simply, does Kaspersky have a problem with its US servers, or, does Kaspersky change how it accesses it's servers within the update packages?  The problem occurring earlier this year coincided with Kaspersky's server outages in the US. Has anyone else observed this need to swap proxy server state to get updates to run?  I would greatly appreciate feedback on this.

B) Don't know if can comment on this "Moved post" but here's my thoughts

on this - Update issue : All the users have problem with failed Updates

and doesn't exist a steady fix..The best approach is keep rebooting

the PC - suddenly  the Updates get to normal by itself : Update

to 2018 or 2019 | May improve updating the dataBases