Sign in to follow this  
KP_trial

Trouble with KLDump.exe

Hi !

Newbie here (at least as far as Kaspersky Pure or any Kaspersky product is concerned anyways) ... running a 30 day trial version of Kaspersky Pure ("KP").

Using Win7Pro/64 with SP1. Trying to run the KLDump.exe from a command window (started with admin privilege) gets me several warnings from KP, all of which I allow. When finally KLDump.exe seems to want to execute it throws back an error message (see below). How do I get around this ?

KLDump.exe -f KAV_dump.txt

Cannot register plugin driver "Logger". Execution stopped.

TIA,

:)

hello

did kaspersky instruct you to run it? try to disable UAC completely.

also, where did you get it from: http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193238654 here?

No they did not instruct me to run it; but I am trying to trace some outbound attacks which are not otherwise found or blocked on the local Win7 PC (they appear in the logs of a proxy server sitting between the Win7 system and the internet).

I have not tried to disable UAC, and I don't think it will help. Most likely the "logger.sys" file is either missing, blocked or not properly installed by the KLDump facility. This may be due to the Win7/Pro/64 version I am using. ( I have now searched the C: drive for the "Logger.sys" file. It is not present. Thus ... it can't be registered. Due to the potential nature of the file I am wary of finding/downloading it separately, except in conjunction with KLDump. )

I got KLDump.zip from a different (older) forum link, but just downloaded the link you suggested. That version of the exe and the one I downloaded yesterday are identical ("fc /b").

Thanks for trying to help ...

Any other ideas ? :unsure:

*UPDATE* ... I just had the idea of using the email address mention in the "KLDump.exe: an utility for creation of network attack dump files" link to contat Kaspersky direct for help with this ... lets see what happens. :)