esther1501

No GUI and service won't start

Hi,

Running Kaspersky for Workstations 6.0.3.837 on Windows XP Pro SP2, all up to date. About a week ago, Kaspersky stopped working: K system tray icon does not show, attempting to start Kaspersky manually does nothing. In Services, Kaspersky service is stuck "Starting" but never actually starts. In Task Manager, first instance of AVP.exe is using 99% CPU. I cannot disable Application Integrity Control because I have no Kaspersky GUI.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

TBL

Hello,

I have this issue in my network, We have 500 clients in our network. two days ago this problem happened for me, all of client's kaspersky have been disabled. I got log files an sent to kaspersky support but still I can not get any solution. :unsure:

Thanks for the suggestion Dawinci. have you experienced the problem directly, and if so, has your suggestion actually resolved it? I am an external support contractor here, and I'm reluctant to carry out untested stab-in-the-dark stuff on my client's machines. Two of them are now affected by this same problem.

try the latest *beta* update source: ftp://dnl-test.kaspersky-labs.com/beta_updates/ap/ which included new improved klif.sys

try the latest *beta* update source: ftp://dnl-test.kaspersky-labs.com/beta_updates/ap/ which included new improved klif.sys

This contains a klif.sys for Kaspersky AntiVirus for Windows Workstations 6 that is hardly different to the version causing problems - this is 6.12.10.328 as opposed to 6.12.10.327 from the 'regular' update servers. There are so few bytes differing that I wonder if there's any meaningful code differences.