IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to enable file and print sharing
karen402
post 19.12.2008 23:00
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




I'm sure it's in the help file, and been ask in this forum but I've looked for hours.
I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 on this computer. It is part of my wireless network at home. My other computer has the router and has McAfee installed.

Before I installed Kaspersky I was able to send documents to the printer, which is on the other computer. Also I can no longer share files between computers. I'm sure I'm missing a easy setting somewhere.

McAfee is about ready to expire on my other computer and I was thinking of getting a three user thing with Kaspersky but to be honest this seems like a very hard program to learn to use
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EPR35
post 19.12.2008 23:16
Post #2


Professional II
************

Group: Members
Posts: 3245
Joined: 14.12.2007




Check that your network is set to Local

Settings > System Security > Firewall > Settings > Networks > Select right click and set to local
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karen402
post 19.12.2008 23:41
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




Thanks bunches, that did fix the print sharing,,,,but file sharing still does not work.
It did before and we use it quite a bit so I really need it
Thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 19.12.2008 23:48
Post #4


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28858
Joined: 7.04.2005




.....................and these pc's are still using McAfee?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karen402
post 19.12.2008 23:55
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




QUOTE(Don Pelotas @ 19.12.2008 22:48) *
.....................and these pc's are still using McAfee?


My main computer, and notebook still have McAfee and file sharing works fine.
My daughters computer the one I just put Kaspersky on is the one that file sharing is not working on. It worked fine until I installed Kaspersky so I'm sure I'm missing a setting somewhere
When I go to networks I can see her computer files, I just can't access them either direction
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
EPR35
post 20.12.2008 00:19
Post #6


Professional II
************

Group: Members
Posts: 3245
Joined: 14.12.2007




Please post a GSI log following this step by step guide

1. Click here to download the GetSystemInfo tool

2. Unzip & next run getsysteminfo.exe., choose where you wish to save the text file... the desktop is the easy choice.

3. Click here to upload your GetSystemInfo log. (Note: It’s not a requirement to register you can use normal access scrolling down the web page)

4. Now copy and paste the link to the log you have just made into your next post in this thread.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 20.12.2008 01:18
Post #7


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28858
Joined: 7.04.2005




The requested log(s) is from every pc you have in the network................of course it will work between McAfee equiped pc's like it would between Kaspersky pc's, but maybe we will notice something in the GSL logs.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karen402
post 20.12.2008 01:38
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




QUOTE(Don Pelotas @ 20.12.2008 00:18) *
The requested log(s) is from every pc you have in the network................of course it will work between McAfee equiped pc's like it would between Kaspersky pc's, but maybe we will notice something in the GSL logs.


I have to go to a school thing tonight but will post the logs
I mis-spoke when I said file sharing wouldn't work in either direction. The computer that has Kasperky I can drag files from both computer to it. I just can't get files out of it
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnMH
post 20.12.2008 04:35
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13.12.2008




I am having a similar issue. I have an old desktop running XP and a new laptop running Vista. I had been running Verizon's security SW on the desktop, and a temporary trial version of something else on the laptop (I don't actually remember what it was). On both, I uninstalled the old security SW and installed Kaspersky 2009. Before I did that, I was able to see the files from either computer on either computer. Now, I can't see the other computer's files. I have set both to Local home network, as was stated in the previous post, but am still unable to access the other computer's files. I mapped a network drive, and could see the folder names, but when I would click on a folder, I get "access denied". When I go to "Network" on the Vista laptop, it is not seeing the other computer, which it used to do automatically before I installed Kaspersky.

Please help.

Thanks.
-John
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnMH
post 20.12.2008 04:59
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13.12.2008




*EDIT* Nevermind. I found that Kaspersky didn't pick up the name of the network and used the name of the router as the network name. Once I renamed it to the name I had given the network, all was good. I'll leave the original question up in case someone else has the same issue.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 20.12.2008 05:22
Post #11


Oldtimer
****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 48928
Joined: 14.06.2007




QUOTE(karen402)
... file sharing ...

More information, and diagnostic steps, see: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=82962


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karen402
post 20.12.2008 19:15
Post #12


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




QUOTE(JohnMH @ 20.12.2008 03:59) *
*EDIT* Nevermind. I found that Kaspersky didn't pick up the name of the network and used the name of the router as the network name. Once I renamed it to the name I had given the network, all was good. I'll leave the original question up in case someone else has the same issue.


Mine is the name of the router as well. I don't know that my network has a name. I sure didn't give it one....you mean like Work Group?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dburress
post 20.12.2008 21:16
Post #13


Newbie
*

Group: Validating
Posts: 3
Joined: 18.12.2008
From: Indianapolis, Indiana (USA)




QUOTE(JohnMH @ 19.12.2008 19:59) *
*EDIT* Nevermind. I found that Kaspersky didn't pick up the name of the network and used the name of the router as the network name. Once I renamed it to the name I had given the network, all was good. I'll leave the original question up in case someone else has the same issue.

Where at in KIS 2009 do you rename your network?


--------------------
Peace and B Wild!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnMH
post 20.12.2008 22:48
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13.12.2008




QUOTE(dburress @ 20.12.2008 20:16) *
Where at in KIS 2009 do you rename your network?


You don't rename it in KIS. KIS changed the name, But it was in the Vista control panel, under Networks, that you change the name.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karen402
post 20.12.2008 22:53
Post #15


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




This didn't work for me, guess I've got something else going on. I changed this to my network name anc still can't access my files, under file sharing
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnMH
post 21.12.2008 00:20
Post #16


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 13.12.2008




QUOTE(karen402 @ 20.12.2008 21:53) *
This didn't work for me, guess I've got something else going on. I changed this to my network name anc still can't access my files, under file sharing


Maybe check to see if the folders are still marked as shared. The fact that you can see the files and move other things between other computers sounds suspiciously like the files are not shared. That said, KIS didn't change that when I loaded it on my computers. But it's worth checking.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
karen402
post 21.12.2008 01:56
Post #17


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 19.12.2008




My problem was not related to Kaspersky, I guess it just happened when I installed the program.
I did a google search on file sharing xp to vista and there was a regedit to try. I'm not sure what I did other than follow the directions.
Anyway I'm good for now
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2.09.2014 05:49