IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Is this fix actually recommended, Slow web browsing
Oldjim
post 6.10.2008 16:22
Post #1


Advanced Member V
*******

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1198
Joined: 23.10.2005




http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=222051
Post 6
QUOTE
I had that issue, fixed now.. heres how

can you please double click the kaspersky icon

choose settings

choose network

select

untick ports 443 and 80


apply and ok

And yeah its totally safe to do that. Kaspersky approved. !!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 6.10.2008 16:24
Post #2


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28886
Joined: 7.04.2005




No, that looks a lot like our old now banned resident troll on the move again.......doing his "dirty" work. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oldjim
post 6.10.2008 16:42
Post #3


Advanced Member V
*******

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1198
Joined: 23.10.2005




Thanks Don,
I have quoted this thread in reply
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 6.10.2008 16:57
Post #4


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28886
Joined: 7.04.2005




QUOTE(Oldjim @ 6.10.2008 14:42) *
Thanks Don,
I have quoted this thread in reply

It is certainly not an officially recommended fix to anything, it is sometimes used by members here to troubleshoot an issue.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Baz^^
post 6.10.2008 19:34
Post #5


Wrestling Champion
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8799
Joined: 10.03.2007




Well actually all that does is stop web av from scanning traffic on port 80 (www) and 443... no risk to it if you have fileAV enabled as it will catch infections on execution.


--------------------
Kind Regards,

Baz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CJ2
post 6.10.2008 19:39
Post #6


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 4.10.2008
From: England or Quebec




QUOTE(Baz^^ @ 6.10.2008 16:34) *
Well actually all that does is stop web av from scanning traffic on port 80 (www) and 443... no risk to it if you have fileAV enabled as it will catch infections on execution.



Thanks Baz, actually, its all ive been able to do anyway to get my Internet Explorer to open webpages properly. I trusted the support team to give me good sound advice. !
And i just noticed another poster in this section with exactly the same issues i faced. " Internet problem with KAV 2009 "

This post has been edited by CJ2: 6.10.2008 19:40


--------------------
Running ....
Windows XP Pro SP3
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 1333FSB 6MB Cache Quad Core Core 64 Bit Processor
ASUS P5N-T Deluxe Motherboard
4GB DDR2 800MHz Dual Channel Ram
640GB (2 x 320GB) Serial ATA II Hard drive with 16MB Buffer
Dual Nvidia 8800GTX 1024MB PCI-E Graphics Running In SLI Mode
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 6.10.2008 20:36
Post #7


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28886
Joined: 7.04.2005




Unchecking that option is a workaround because of a conflict, it should not be necessary under normal circumstances....instead should the cause try to be found.

P.s. Mail between you & support is for your eyes only, unless specificly allowed by the other part....which it wasn't.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CJ2
post 6.10.2008 21:37
Post #8


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 257
Joined: 4.10.2008
From: England or Quebec




QUOTE(Don Pelotas @ 6.10.2008 17:36) *
Unchecking that option is a workaround because of a conflict, it should not be necessary under normal circumstances....instead should the cause try to be found.

P.s. Mail between you & support is for your eyes only, unless specificly allowed by the other part....which it wasn't.


I apologise for doing that , but i was also a little miffed about the "Troll" suggestion. I got the advice direct from Kaspersky and although it hasnt helped, it was posted in good faith.
Hope you can accept that. I'm Sorry.


--------------------
Running ....
Windows XP Pro SP3
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 1333FSB 6MB Cache Quad Core Core 64 Bit Processor
ASUS P5N-T Deluxe Motherboard
4GB DDR2 800MHz Dual Channel Ram
640GB (2 x 320GB) Serial ATA II Hard drive with 16MB Buffer
Dual Nvidia 8800GTX 1024MB PCI-E Graphics Running In SLI Mode
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 6.10.2008 21:47
Post #9


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28886
Joined: 7.04.2005




Yes, of course, it's easy to get worked up, but you should just have said you were that poster instead. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24.11.2014 18:50