IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Manually uninstall Kaspersky Internet Security, Vista Home Premium to Ultimate won't install untill uninstalled
DBZFYAM
post 20.11.2007 01:55
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




A few months ago, I've installed a trial version of Kaspersky Internet Security. I uninstalled it after the trial expired. Today, I tried to upgrade to Windows Vista Ultimate, but got a error saying I need to uninstall "Kaspersky Internet Security Suite or Anti-Virus" before it can proceed with the upgrade (which cost me 180 euros). Does anyone know how I can manually remove all traces of KIS?

Thanks in advance for the help,
Stefan

This post has been edited by DBZFYAM: 20.11.2007 02:06
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 20.11.2007 02:11
Post #2


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9303
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463.
Run it (preferably in Safe Mode)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DBZFYAM
post 20.11.2007 02:15
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




Just found that page aswell. But when I run the remover I get the message "Kaspersky Anti-Virus was not detected".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 20.11.2007 02:41
Post #4


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9303
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




Try to run the following:
http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

If that does not help, try to run Microsoft's MSI cleaner and delete traces of AVP, KAV or Kaspersky with it: http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/9...1bd/msicuu2.exe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DBZFYAM
post 20.11.2007 03:28
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




QUOTE(dawgg @ 19.11.2007 23:41) *
Try to run the following:
http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

If that does not help, try to run Microsoft's MSI cleaner and delete traces of AVP, KAV or Kaspersky with it: http://download.microsoft.com/download/e/9...1bd/msicuu2.exe


Thanks for the fast response. Unfortunately the first one doesn't work (still getting the error after running it) and the second one does not list anything related to Kaspersky.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 20.11.2007 10:11
Post #6


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28882
Joined: 7.04.2005




Try to reinstall Kaspersky, reboot & exit Kaspersky immediatedly and then run the first tool.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DBZFYAM
post 20.11.2007 17:53
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




Just tried that, but I still get the same error. Tried to remove it in normal mode and safe mode.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 20.11.2007 22:43
Post #8


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9303
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




Click Start>Run>regedit
click Edit>Find>Kaspersky and delete the keys which say Kaspersky
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dllznn
post 21.11.2007 11:18
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21.11.2007




Hi there everybody,

I've about the same trouble running Windows 2000 sp4. As I try to install KIS07 the installation windows tells me that " It needs to reboot the computer before installing KIS" and than a KIS window says that " KIS have produced an error (no mention about what kind of error), installation will be stopped". No matter how many times I reboot, the result is always the same. I've tried also all the suggestion above but no changes at all, and is 4 days I'm trying...

Someone could pease help me?

Thanks,
Zenone
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 21.11.2007 16:40
Post #10


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9303
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




QUOTE(dllznn @ 21.11.2007 07:18) *
I've about the same trouble running Windows 2000 sp4. As I try to install KIS07 the installation windows tells me that " It needs to reboot the computer before installing KIS" and than a KIS window says that " KIS have produced an error (no mention about what kind of error), installation will be stopped". No matter how many times I reboot, the result is always the same. I've tried also all the suggestion above but no changes at all, and is 4 days I'm trying...
Someone could pease help me?

Click Start>Run>regedit... navigate to HKLM\Software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\run and delete any entry which looks like AVP_post_uninstall or AVP (anything similar)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DBZFYAM
post 21.11.2007 17:28
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




QUOTE(dawgg @ 20.11.2007 19:43) *
Click Start>Run>regedit
click Edit>Find>Kaspersky and delete the keys which say Kaspersky


Deleted 2 keys/folders, but I still get the same error. Does it leave files behind after a uninstall? Or maybe something that has to do with the security center? Maybe Vista still sees those.

This post has been edited by DBZFYAM: 21.11.2007 17:29
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 21.11.2007 18:13
Post #12


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9303
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




QUOTE(DBZFYAM @ 21.11.2007 13:28) *
Deleted 2 keys/folders, but I still get the same error. Does it leave files behind after a uninstall? Or maybe something that has to do with the security center? Maybe Vista still sees those.

Kaspersky usually removes all files and if there is a problem, the removal tools almost certainly will rid the leftovers if there are any.
Good idea, you can attempt to do refresh the security center
:
1. Temporarily disable the WMI service (Windows management instrumentation) in: Start >Run > type: services.msc and in there find/stop WMI
2. Next delete the C:\windows\system32\wbem\repository folder
3. Restart the WMI service & restart the computer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lucian Bara
post 21.11.2007 19:26
Post #13


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 56947
Joined: 28.01.2006
From: Timisoara, Romania




well for the must reboot. you have to delete the avp6_post_uninstall key (it's displayed like a folder on the left side, proceed with deleting as you would a folder).
it should be located as a subkey (like a subfolder) of HKey_Local_Machine\Software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\run or under runonce
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DBZFYAM
post 22.11.2007 10:36
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




Resetting the security center didn't work (really hoped it would) and couldn't find avp6_post_uninstall... dash1.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dllznn
post 22.11.2007 12:23
Post #15


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 21.11.2007




QUOTE(Lucian Bara @ 21.11.2007 16:26) *
well for the must reboot. you have to delete the avp6_post_uninstall key (it's displayed like a folder on the left side, proceed with deleting as you would a folder).
it should be located as a subkey (like a subfolder) of HKey_Local_Machine\Software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\run or under runonce



Wow it works!! Thank you so much guys for the help.
Zenone
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 22.11.2007 16:44
Post #16


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9303
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




QUOTE(DBZFYAM @ 22.11.2007 06:36) *
Resetting the security center didn't work (really hoped it would) and couldn't find avp6_post_uninstall... dash1.gif

Please read as instructed and post a link to your PC's GSI Parser here.
Instructions: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=36444
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DBZFYAM
post 22.11.2007 17:38
Post #17


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20.11.2007




Here's the link to the report:
http://gsi.kaspersky.fr/lire.php?hl=en&...17837cf9edf3206
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1.11.2014 15:02