IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> WMA Phishing, playing wma file opens phishing site
Marc
post 25.07.2007 17:17
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 25.07.2007




hi,
first of all, this is my first topic here and i hope im in the right place to ask this question mellow.gif
when i want to play some wma files, my KIS opens with an alert message
"file wants to open a phising site"

this is what KIS is saying in neutralized objects
"blocked: phishing address http://*.*.com.*.net/* URL: http://content.ztango.com.edgesuite.net/me...age_s.png"

is it possible to clean this wma file and how can i do this? i don't want to delete this rare file

txs guys for helping me wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lucian Bara
post 25.07.2007 17:19
Post #2


True legend
***************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 52487
Joined: 28.01.2006
From: Timisoara, Romania




hello
it's a false alarm, it will be fixed in the next updates. the wma is not infected.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc
post 25.07.2007 17:26
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 25.07.2007




ok
thank you very much lucian for the quick response

bye
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Micha
post 25.07.2007 17:51
Post #4


IT Security Lab Chief Analyst
******

Group: KL Japan
Posts: 723
Joined: 8.04.2005
From: Tokyo




QUOTE(Marc @ 25.07.2007 23:17)
hi,
first of all, this is my first topic here and i hope im in the right place to ask this question mellow.gif
when i want to play some wma files, my KIS opens with an alert message
"file wants to open a phising site"

this is what KIS is saying in neutralized objects
"blocked: phishing address http://*.*.com.*.net/* URL: http://content.ztango.com.edgesuite.net/me...age_s.png"

is it possible to clean this wma file and how can i do this? i don't want to delete this rare file

txs guys for helping me  wink.gif
[right][snapback]404692[/snapback][/right]

Hi,

That should be fixed already!
Please try to update your Kaspersky Lab product.
Also maybe cleaning out browser cache might play a role.

Greetings
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc
post 25.07.2007 21:15
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 25.07.2007




well, i've got the version 7.0.0.125
i think it is the latest version already. and browser cache was empty too sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 25.07.2007 21:57
Post #6


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1248
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon




I have no access to this site ,i got a : This error (HTTP 404 Not Found)


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)

VULNERABILITIES are NOT malware,Trojans,Virus or something that can HARM yr PC
Has to do with old versions of Java,Quicktime, Adobe reader and Flash. You can download newer versions from here:
http://www.adobe.com/downloads/updates/
http://get.adobe.com/air/
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download[/color]
http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/155/tn_15507.html Version test for Adobe Flash Player
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bernhard
post 25.07.2007 21:59
Post #7


Professional
************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 3079
Joined: 4.04.2007
From: Germany




QUOTE(ibok @ 25.07.2007 18:57)
I have no access to this site ,i got a : This error (HTTP 404 Not Found)
[right][snapback]404862[/snapback][/right]


Yes, same here...


--------------------
Otter-Avoider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Duke53
post 25.07.2007 23:51
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 1.04.2007
From: Kentucky, USA




QUOTE(Marc @ 25.07.2007 10:17)
hi,
first of all, this is my first topic here and i hope im in the right place to ask this question mellow.gif
when i want to play some wma files, my KIS opens with an alert message
"file wants to open a phising site"

this is what KIS is saying in neutralized objects
"blocked: phishing address http://*.*.com.*.net/* URL: http://content.ztango.com.edgesuite.net/me...age_s.png"

is it possible to clean this wma file and how can i do this? i don't want to delete this rare file

txs guys for helping me  wink.gif
[right][snapback]404692[/snapback][/right]


I had the same thing happen to me last night. I was playing some downloaded mp3's and I had three phishing alerts pop up. I just clicked on ignore and kept on playing. I knew KIS had control and I wasn't worried. cool.gif


--------------------
Mobo: Asus P5WDH Delux Wireless
CPU: Intel Core 2 DUO 2.40 GHz
RAM: Kingston HyperX DDR2-800 2 GIGS
PSU: Seasonic 550W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda SATAll 320 GB
Video Card: Asus GeForce 7600GT 256MB Silent
OS: XP Home SP3
Sound: Realtek HD Audio
Monitor: CTL 201LX - LCD 20 inch
KIS 8.0.0.506
Firefox Browser
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Whizard
post 26.07.2007 01:06
Post #9


Professional
***************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 17899
Joined: 19.11.2005
From: Toronto/Canada




Actually if press allow you release the control. This false positive is fixed now smile.gif


--------------------
Networking and Security Guru
~^Whizard^~
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 26.07.2007 11:19
Post #10


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1248
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon




The problem remain.And i donnot see what Whizard sees but that :

This post has been edited by ibok: 26.07.2007 11:20
Attached File(s)
Attached File  The_webpage_cannot_be_found.JPG ( 39.66K ) Number of downloads: 13
 


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)

VULNERABILITIES are NOT malware,Trojans,Virus or something that can HARM yr PC
Has to do with old versions of Java,Quicktime, Adobe reader and Flash. You can download newer versions from here:
http://www.adobe.com/downloads/updates/
http://get.adobe.com/air/
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download[/color]
http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/155/tn_15507.html Version test for Adobe Flash Player
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lucian Bara
post 26.07.2007 11:26
Post #11


True legend
***************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 52487
Joined: 28.01.2006
From: Timisoara, Romania




it's because the link has a " at the end, or %22, if you remove that it should show you a small picture


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 26.07.2007 11:39
Post #12


Advanced Member
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1248
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon




QUOTE(Lucian Bara @ 26.07.2007 11:26)
it's because the link has a " at the end, or %22, if you remove that it should show you a small picture
[right][snapback]405176[/snapback][/right]

Yes i can see that small picture.
Thanks again for one more time LUCIAN

P.S. But i thought that i could see a page from one site and NOT that little picture.
Anyway thanks again.

This post has been edited by ibok: 26.07.2007 11:43


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)

VULNERABILITIES are NOT malware,Trojans,Virus or something that can HARM yr PC
Has to do with old versions of Java,Quicktime, Adobe reader and Flash. You can download newer versions from here:
http://www.adobe.com/downloads/updates/
http://get.adobe.com/air/
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download[/color]
http://java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/155/tn_15507.html Version test for Adobe Flash Player
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22.11.2009 07:18