IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Firewall disabled, when re-enabled DNS wont resolve [In progress]
Zach Lucas
post 23.12.2013 19:51
Post #1


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 31.10.2013




I created a test group of computers to test different policy on for troubleshooting. One of the things I tested was disabling firewall, when I discovered that was not our issue I enabled it again however on about 10% of those computers in the test group dns will not resolve. I can ping the dns servers, gateways and even internet sites via ip. If I disable firewall everything works ok again. These computers are all kes10 some xp some 7.

Any ideas what would cause this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Sazhin
post 23.12.2013 20:11
Post #2


Technical Support Engineer
*************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 5090
Joined: 10.09.2013
From: Moscow




QUOTE(Zach Lucas @ 23.12.2013 20:51) *
I created a test group of computers to test different policy on for troubleshooting. One of the things I tested was disabling firewall, when I discovered that was not our issue I enabled it again however on about 10% of those computers in the test group dns will not resolve. I can ping the dns servers, gateways and even internet sites via ip. If I disable firewall everything works ok again. These computers are all kes10 some xp some 7.

Any ideas what would cause this?

Hello!
Please kindly specify the exact version of our products you are using.
Also please kindly check your Firewall rules. By default DNS requests are processed according to application rules; try changing them to 'Allowed' to see if this is the issue.
Thank you!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  DNS1.png ( 257,61K ) Number of downloads: 17
 


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zach Lucas
post 30.12.2013 06:00
Post #3


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 31.10.2013




QUOTE(Ivan Sazhin @ 23.12.2013 21:11) *
Hello!
Please kindly specify the exact version of our products you are using.
Also please kindly check your Firewall rules. By default DNS requests are processed according to application rules; try changing them to 'Allowed' to see if this is the issue.
Thank you!



This is the issue. If I change request DNS (tpc and udp) to allow all it works again. However in my main group its set to "according to application rule" and there is no issue until the firewall is turned on then off. Is there a way I can resolve this without changing my main policy to allow all dns requests? Or is that not seen as a issue and go ahead and set it to allow all?

KES - 10.1.0.867
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikolay Arinchev
post 30.12.2013 06:09
Post #4


Technical Support Specialist
*************

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 3606
Joined: 5.10.2009




Hi,

In order to solve the issue, please enable traces(see my singanture), follow the described scenario, disable treces and attach them to KL support request.

Please do not forgot to tell us the number.

Thank you.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27.11.2014 21:01