IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Massive log files by KIS 13
kho207bob
post 23.11.2012 01:52
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 23.11.2012




Hi, I found that KIS was using up approx 70GB of HDD space under Application Data, storing what looks like log files. One of the files was 40GB alone. I've deleted them, as I can't afford to use that much space, but as you'd expect they have reappeared.

The file "KAV.13.0.1.4190c_11.23_07.19_3420.SRV.log.enc1" has grown to 200MB in half an hour and doesn't seem to stop growing. Are there any ways of stopping these massive files being generated?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tonky
post 23.11.2012 02:06
Post #2


Posting guru
*************

Group: Members
Posts: 5821
Joined: 26.01.2006
From: The Netherlands




You must have activate Traces.
Support >>tools for support >>traces
Deactivate traces and remove the log files manualy.


--------------------
.....File not found. Should I fake it? (Y/N)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kho207bob
post 23.11.2012 15:57
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 23.11.2012




Thanks for the reply guys. Works fine now. How it got enabled in the first place is beyond me though...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Janeinma
post 28.12.2012 01:15
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28.12.2012




QUOTE(kho207bob @ 23.11.2012 06:57) *
Thanks for the reply guys. Works fine now. How it got enabled in the first place is beyond me though...


Thanks I had been waiting for over a day for support to help, and the logs had taken 110 of my 180 G SSD drive. Your help means I have recovered my hs space and can continue working. BTW its seems KIS2013 comes autoactivated for traces.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 28.12.2012 04:06
Post #5


Oldtimer
****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 47346
Joined: 14.06.2007




Welcome. No, it doesn't. smile.gif

What is the full build number of your Kaspersky product? (pass cursor over the red K tray icon)


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Janeinma
post 28.12.2012 22:37
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 28.12.2012




QUOTE(richbuff @ 27.12.2012 19:06) *
Welcome. No, it doesn't. smile.gif

What is the full build number of your Kaspersky product? (pass cursor over the red K tray icon)

KIS 2012 13.0.1.4190
What makes you think it doesnt?
I never enabled traces and this is a fresh install on a freshly built PC taking the deafualt settings to install on Windows 8.
This thread at least help me track down how to stop this issue and move on.
I am suprised though its been almost two days and no reply to my ticket.
I could close it but it would be nice to think that support could review a ticket with this symptom and diagnose quickly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tonky
post 28.12.2012 23:39
Post #7


Posting guru
*************

Group: Members
Posts: 5821
Joined: 26.01.2006
From: The Netherlands




QUOTE(Janeinma @ 28.12.2012 19:37) *
KIS 2012 13.0.1.4190
What makes you think it doesnt?
BTW its seems KIS2013 comes autoactivated for traces.

I have never seen that in all my installations over the last 8 years.

This post has been edited by Tonky: 28.12.2012 23:40


--------------------
.....File not found. Should I fake it? (Y/N)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Upendra Verma
post 11.03.2013 20:58
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 11.03.2013




QUOTE(Tonky @ 29.12.2012 01:09) *
I have never seen that in all my installations over the last 8 years.


I too have this same problem. Few days back my PC started to slow down but i didn't worried too much but today my whole os drive is full, which i remember to having about 100GB free space. Then with some soft i came to realize that it was kaspersky log files (especially *.SRV.log.enc1 files) took all space and i know for sure i havn't changed any settings at all.My kaspersky version is also same as above - 13.0.1.4190.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 12.03.2013 05:15
Post #9


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8967
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




Please disable traces by: settings > support > support tools > disable.

Then you can delete those .log files.

If still no go, then Please post the link of your GetSystemInfo report by following the four steps outlined here: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...post&p=5395




--------------------
Tech Article: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 release info, Patch B-E for version 14.0.0.4651


2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
finelinebob
post 31.08.2013 06:28
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 31.08.2013




I find it quite shocking that whatever creates these files is turned on by default.

I built a new machine mid-July with clean installs of everything, so Kaspersky was starting off with a clean slate. I had never used KIS before, so I certainly didn't know enough about the program yet to do anything other than going with the default settings. My boot drive was a 512 GB SSD. Within one month of operation, my disk was full.

Long story short? Of about 500 GB of used space, 380 GB was due to the Kaspersky Labs folder in my Hidden ProgramData folder, with almost all of that being ENC1 files.

So forum moderators -- tell your bosses that they are ~ING UP. I had ONE piece of software that I installed off a DVD, and that was Windows. EVERY SINGLE OTHER PROGRAM I installed was a digital download. Kaspersky, whatever your default settings are, they are not in touch with the reality of how people purchase and install software. Maybe in former Soviet Russia you still get programs on DVDs, or CDs, or Floppies, but that is not the case in the US.

edit: expletive deleted.

This post has been edited by richbuff: 31.08.2013 06:56
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 31.08.2013 07:03
Post #11


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8967
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




Welcome. It's off by default. From where did you get your digital download?


--------------------
Tech Article: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 release info, Patch B-E for version 14.0.0.4651


2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
microcosme
post 6.02.2014 21:29
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6.02.2014




Hello,

I have Windows 8.1, Kaspersky Internet security 2014

In this directory
C:\ProgramData\Kaspersky Lab\
I have 75 Gb (Gb!) Kaspersky files with extensions .enc1
and also few .dump.zip and a lot of 1Kb .log

It takes much place on system disk...

Is there a sure way to delete unnecessary Kaspersky updates?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 7.02.2014 01:43
Post #13


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8967
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




Welcome. You can delete the .enc files but you must disable traces first and maybe disable self defense. http://support.kaspersky.com/us/9078

Regarding the .dmp files, how recent are they? Please post the link of your GetSystemInfo report by following the four steps outlined here: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...post&p=5395


--------------------
Tech Article: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 release info, Patch B-E for version 14.0.0.4651


2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
microcosme
post 7.02.2014 13:55
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6.02.2014




QUOTE(rudger79 @ 6.02.2014 22:43) *
Welcome. You can delete the .enc files but you must disable traces first and maybe disable self defense. http://support.kaspersky.com/us/9078

Regarding the .dmp files, how recent are they? Please post the link of your GetSystemInfo report by following the four steps outlined here: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...post&p=5395


Thank you very much Rudger for your helpful answer!

Now
1.
in Support tools
Traces are disabled.
Do I reenable Traces?
2.
and Self defense is now deactivated
Do I reactivate it
and periodically deactivate it for removing .enc1 and .log files
and then reactivate, etc.?
(It should work fine but it seems not an elegant computing solution; isn't it?)

Yours

Roger
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 7.02.2014 13:59
Post #15


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8967
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




1. No. Keep traces disabled. Delete the .enc1 files then re-enable self defense when done.
2. Yes. Keep self defense enabled.


--------------------
Tech Article: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 release info, Patch B-E for version 14.0.0.4651


2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17.04.2014 08:25