IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Windows Defender
gmcpmc
post 22.10.2012 20:21
Post #1


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 9.01.2011




Not being very computer smart, I need some help. I have had my computer for 2 years with Window 7. I use KAV2012 - 12.0.0.374J. Never paid attention until an update failed that Windows Defender is on the computer. Did some searching and found yes, it's ok to have both, no it's no ok to have both. Very confusing. What is the correct answer. If no, what do I do with Windows Defender? Does having both hurt?

Any and all help greatly appreciated.....thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 22.10.2012 20:46
Post #2


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9214
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




Disable windows defender, it conflicts: http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=8279


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kurt S.
post 24.10.2012 00:13
Post #3


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 349
Joined: 4.12.2009
From: Germany, Bavaria




gmcpmc,
There seems to be a lot confusion about compatibility of Windows Defender and KAV/KIS. For KAV/KIS 2012 Windows Defender 1.1 is listed by Kaspersky as incompatible: http://support.kaspersky.com/kav2012/install?qid=208284358

For KAV/KIS 2013 Windows Defender has been take off the list: http://support.kaspersky.com/kav2013/install?qid=208286578

Personally, over the last 3 years I had KIS 2010, 2011, 2012 and now 2013 on my Windows 7 64 bit PC and never any problem with the co-location of Windows Defender and KIS. However, in Windows Defender I disabled the "real time protection" and use Defender only as a second opinion with a manual scan.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
38 special
post 29.10.2012 22:28
Post #4


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 338
Joined: 18.08.2005




QUOTE(Kurt S. @ 23.10.2012 15:13) *
gmcpmc,
There seems to be a lot confusion about compatibility of Windows Defender and KAV/KIS. For KAV/KIS 2012 Windows Defender 1.1 is listed by Kaspersky as incompatible: http://support.kaspersky.com/kav2012/install?qid=208284358

For KAV/KIS 2013 Windows Defender has been take off the list: http://support.kaspersky.com/kav2013/install?qid=208286578

Personally, over the last 3 years I had KIS 2010, 2011, 2012 and now 2013 on my Windows 7 64 bit PC and never any problem with the co-location of Windows Defender and KIS. However, in Windows Defender I disabled the "real time protection" and use Defender only as a second opinion with a manual scan.

This is exactly what I'm going to do now. Your detailed post helped me a lot ay.gif

Just upgraded to Win 8.

This post has been edited by 38 special: 29.10.2012 22:30
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Just Wondering
post 29.10.2012 23:05
Post #5


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 11.08.2012




Hi
I've wondered also about the compatability of defender with KIS13 and chose to disable it completely in Services. However, given posts here indicating that defender is not compatable yet no longer appears on the list, I am still confused. Does defender not appearing on the list mean that Kasp are stating as fact that it is not a problem? Moreover, how would one know if a conflict was occurring between KIS13 and defender? Issues could be occurring that are not visible or apparent to the non-expert computer user, thereby giving a false sense of security - literally as well as figuratively. Personally, I will leave it disabled till Kasp state it's not an issue.
Cheers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scottls
post 30.10.2012 00:32
Post #6


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 3.10.2012
From: Kalispell, MT




QUOTE(Just Wondering @ 29.10.2012 12:05) *
Hi
I've wondered also about the compatability of defender with KIS13 and chose to disable it completely in Services.

Simply Disabling WD in Services does Not keep the sub-modules from running/Slowing your computer (WD never found anything on my computer anyway)!-

I temp re-enabled WD, and UN-ticked ALL sub-modules (on left)/Disable/reboot.


--------------------
Win 7 Pro x86 (desktop), i5-2500 CPU@3.67ghz, 4gig RAM, WD Raptor SATA6/ 10k rpm/ Hard Drive (WOW!).
KIS2014 (laptop Win7 Pro x64)/ KIS2014 (desktop), and no other active anti-malware. Sandboxie Pro.
On demand- MBAM (no Pro/Context!), Emsisoft Emergency Kit., MBAM Anti-Rootkit!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
38 special
post 30.10.2012 02:37
Post #7


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 338
Joined: 18.08.2005




Yep that makes sense and it's what I did on Win 8 just now.

Thing is WD GUI on Win8 is a bit different than previous versions with just two instances for disabling it, real-time protection and turn-on WD boxes. Just then its own service can be disabled for extra assurance tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wil123
post 2.11.2012 09:19
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2.11.2012




QUOTE(38 special @ 29.10.2012 14:37) *
Yep that makes sense and it's what I did on Win 8 just now.

Thing is WD GUI on Win8 is a bit different than previous versions with just two instances for disabling it, real-time protection and turn-on WD boxes. Just then its own service can be disabled for extra assurance tongue.gif


I'm new to KIS2013, and find it unfortunate that there is no "official" view from Kaspersky, wrt to "Windows Defender".
How many layers of AV and Malware protection do we need?
How much CPU and memory can we afford?

Windows Defender:
- is not listed by "Programs and Features" for de-installation
- has constant update requests from "Windows Update"
- has a running service (WinDefend)
- has a command line utility (MpCmdRun) and
- has a user interface (MSASCui)

This all seems to be separate from MSE (MS Security Essentials) and the old Live OneCare.

Why?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
38 special
post 2.11.2012 10:12
Post #9


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 338
Joined: 18.08.2005




QUOTE(wil123 @ 2.11.2012 00:19) *
I'm new to KIS2013, and find it unfortunate that there is no "official" view from Kaspersky, wrt to "Windows Defender".
How many layers of AV and Malware protection do we need?
How much CPU and memory can we afford?

Windows Defender:
- is not listed by "Programs and Features" for de-installation
- has constant update requests from "Windows Update"
- has a running service (WinDefend)
- has a command line utility (MpCmdRun) and
- has a user interface (MSASCui)

This all seems to be separate from MSE (MS Security Essentials) and the old Live OneCare.

Why?

The "new" WD is basically the old WDefender (antispyware only) combined with the MSE antivirus.
I always tend to think that a good antivirus alone (like KAV) is good enough for everyone, but hey it's just my view.
As for the "new" WD included with Win8, it cannot be uninstalled from the system and that's why it's not listed on 'programs and features'. So prior to install KAV or KIS, it's advisable to deactivate WD manually by following the steps above.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24.10.2014 17:30