IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> what is kaspersky content blocker/dangerous website blocker, merged with same.
yohanrw
post 26.08.2012 13:33
Post #1


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 22.01.2011
From: Sri Lanka




Hello all,

I just downloaded KIS 2013 and installed it, and opened firefox, the latest version. Firefox asked me whether it will iinstalll the addons. I saw a new addon, "Content Blocker". What is "Content Blocker" ? .

This post has been edited by Whizard: 28.08.2012 23:53
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yohanrw
post 26.08.2012 17:06
Post #2


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 22.01.2011
From: Sri Lanka




Any help here please? Or no one knows??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Berny
post 26.08.2012 17:45
Post #3


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 11366
Joined: 30.10.2007




Firefox does no offer an addon named "Content Blocker"

This post has been edited by Berny: 26.08.2012 17:45
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 26.08.2012 17:53
Post #4


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9214
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




Berny, it is new. smile.gif It appeared in the last few builds of beta testing version 2013.


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
3x0gR13N
post 26.08.2012 18:09
Post #5


Kaspersky Fan III
**********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2315
Joined: 2.01.2007
From: Serbia




From MP1 release notes:
QUOTE
A module for blocking dangerous websites has been added to Web Anti-Virus, which replaces an already loaded suspicious or phishing website with a page showing a danger warning in case the page's status is defined after it is loaded.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antikythera
post 27.08.2012 11:28
Post #6


ICT Consultant
*************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 4688
Joined: 11.09.2009
From: The Land That Time Forgot




I have seen website blocked messages like that in previous versions. this content blocker must be a new improved version of the same then which filters more mixed code content.


--------------------
Nothing to see here, move along!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Berny
post 27.08.2012 11:46
Post #7


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 11366
Joined: 30.10.2007




@rudger : I missed this one but it's indeed listed :-)

Attached File  kis_2013_cb.jpg ( 20,04K ) Number of downloads: 103






Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yohanrw
post 28.08.2012 18:23
Post #8


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 22.01.2011
From: Sri Lanka




Thanks a lot for the valueble replies smile.gif. I am glad to know that addon is 100% belongs to KIS. However, berny gave me an SHOCK with his first comment biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MikeR16
post 14.10.2012 00:50
Post #9


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 14.10.2012




I have KIS 2013, and I would like to update to the latest version of Firefox (16.0.1), but when I tried to update I was told that the following Kaspersky-related add-ons are not compatible and would be disabled: URL advisor, virtual keyboard, safe money and content blocker. I know what the first three add-ons are for, and I am willing to do without them until there is a fix that will allow me to use them with Firefox (for instance, if I plan on doing any banking, for the meantime I could just use Google Chrome instead of Firefox), but I don't know what the content blocker does, so I can't make a decision about how vital it is. Can anybody clue me in? Thanks ahead of time for any replies.

Edit: Merged.


This post has been edited by richbuff: 14.10.2012 02:23
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dh27564
post 14.10.2012 01:11
Post #10


Posting guru
*************

Group: Members
Posts: 4619
Joined: 6.06.2009
From: KCLE




See Post #5 here: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showt...content+blocker


--------------------
D. Henderson
Cleveland, Ohio USA
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MikeR16
post 14.10.2012 01:27
Post #11


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 14.10.2012




QUOTE(dh27564 @ 13.10.2012 15:11) *


Thanks for the response. If I read correctly, it is basically anti-phishing protection. Hmm. The two big reasons I got KIS (it was offered at a discount when I bought my new PC) was for the firewall and anti-virus scanning, and it looks like neither of those will be affected, so I may go ahead and update Firefox and just hope that there is an update to KIS soon that will make these add-ons compatible.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
3x0gR13N
post 14.10.2012 02:36
Post #12


Kaspersky Fan III
**********

Group: Moderators
Posts: 2315
Joined: 2.01.2007
From: Serbia




QUOTE(MikeR16 @ 13.10.2012 23:27) *
Thanks for the response. If I read correctly, it is basically anti-phishing protection. Hmm. The two big reasons I got KIS (it was offered at a discount when I bought my new PC) was for the firewall and anti-virus scanning, and it looks like neither of those will be affected, so I may go ahead and update Firefox and just hope that there is an update to KIS soon that will make these add-ons compatible.

No, this is just a small addon that retroactively checks already loaded pages against any new info the cloud protection may send to KIS.
Main phishing protection is functioning without said addon.
Try accessing http://www.kaspersky.com/test/aphish_h test URL (I believe it's the correct one, I don't have KIS installed to check) with the addon disabled and it will be blocked as a phishing website.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MikeR16
post 14.10.2012 02:42
Post #13


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 14.10.2012




QUOTE(3x0gR13N @ 13.10.2012 16:36) *
No, this is just a small addon that retroactively checks already loaded pages against any new info the cloud protection may send to KIS.
Main phishing protection is functioning without said addon.
Try accessing http://www.kaspersky.com/test/aphish_h test URL (I believe it's the correct one, I don't have KIS installed to check) with the addon disabled and it will be blocked as a phishing website.

Thanks. Yes, the phishing protection still worked with content blocker disabled.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gmcpmc
post 5.12.2012 21:32
Post #14


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 9.01.2011




What does the content blocker do? Have never seen this before and not sure if it should be enabled or disabled. Any help greatly appreciated.

edit: merged.

This post has been edited by richbuff: 6.12.2012 03:41
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antikythera
post 5.12.2012 21:37
Post #15


ICT Consultant
*************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 4688
Joined: 11.09.2009
From: The Land That Time Forgot




blocks malicious content in the browser to prevent your pc from becoming infested with such nasties

This post has been edited by antikythera: 5.12.2012 21:38


--------------------
Nothing to see here, move along!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sall
post 21.12.2013 07:33
Post #16


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1468
Joined: 6.01.2006




I know this is an old topic but my firefox was just updated to the latest version and it told me that contect blocker was incompatibel with this version of FF.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 21.12.2013 09:24
Post #17


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000080
Joined: 14.06.2007




Attached File  crystal_ball.PNG ( 153K ) Number of downloads: 4


He sees something.... it is important, but off in the hazy distance... A house -- with a picket fence.... no... that's not it..... and a barn -- with a weather vane... no... that's not it.... it's - it's - a crowing rooster.... no.... a woman -- she's.... wearing a polka-dot dress.... no, that's not it... ..her face is careworn. her name is Emily. Someone has hurt her -- someone has just about broken her heart. It's someone she loves very much. Someone she's been very kind to. she's putting her hand on her heart -- she's-- she's dropping down on the.... No, no no, that's not it.....

What Kaspersky product and Version? Yes! That's it!

Name of Kaspersky product and version? And what version of Firefox?



---------------
Nobody can guess your Kaspersky product and version. Not no body, not no how.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sall
post 21.12.2013 09:33
Post #18


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1468
Joined: 6.01.2006




QUOTE(richbuff @ 21.12.2013 06:24) *
Attached File  crystal_ball.PNG ( 153K ) Number of downloads: 4


He sees something.... it is important, but off in the hazy distance... A house -- with a picket fence.... no... that's not it..... and a barn -- with a weather vane... no... that's not it.... it's - it's - a crowing rooster.... no.... a woman -- she's.... wearing a polka-dot dress.... no, that's not it... ..her face is careworn. her name is Emily. Someone has hurt her -- someone has just about broken her heart. It's someone she loves very much. Someone she's been very kind to. she's putting her hand on her heart -- she's-- she's dropping down on the.... No, no no, that's not it.....

What Kaspersky product and Version? Yes! That's it!

Name of Kaspersky product and version? And what version of Firefox?
---------------
Nobody can guess your Kaspersky product and version. Not no body, not no how.



Not that I think it matters cause I think it goes for everyone no matter what kaspersky version you have. The latest Firefox available is v 26.0 - I have KIS 2013 13.0.1.4190 (j)

smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sall: 21.12.2013 09:33


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 21.12.2013 09:39
Post #19


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000080
Joined: 14.06.2007




QUOTE
Not that I think it matters cause I think it goes for everyone no matter what kaspersky version you have.
Error.

Attached File  Wrong.PNG ( 73,14K ) Number of downloads: 13


Please clean install version 2014. Clean install instructions, links and tips are located in the second and fourth Important topics. After you clean install version 2014, do a databases update > reboot.

Please see the small print that is located at the bottom of this message.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sall
post 22.12.2013 08:21
Post #20


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1468
Joined: 6.01.2006




QUOTE(richbuff @ 21.12.2013 06:39) *
Error.

Attached File  Wrong.PNG ( 73,14K ) Number of downloads: 13


Please clean install version 2014. Clean install instructions, links and tips are located in the second and fourth Important topics. After you clean install version 2014, do a databases update > reboot.

Please see the small print that is located at the bottom of this message.



Sorry Richbuff but there is a reason why I still have 2013, I heard about to many problems with v 2014, so unless you can assure me that all bugs ect. are fixed for 2014 I aint gonna put my hands on it.

This post has been edited by richbuff: 22.12.2013 08:55
Reason for edit: I can't, and nobody can, therefore, topic is closed. :)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24.10.2014 18:39