IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> KAV/KIS 2013 released. How to install, where to download. What build number?, download size? Skins? The usual flurry of preliminary FAQ.
Yami Nemesis
post 23.08.2012 20:54
Post #1


Advanced Member IV
******

Group: Members
Posts: 923
Joined: 19.08.2006
From: Peru




Hi to all... Today, I saw this news.

Where to download http://www.kaspersky.com/productupdates

How to clean install upgrade: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=67812

Edit: Thread sanitized.....removed Windows 8 posts, incorrect info, correct links added. If you cannot see 2013 when you go to product updates then it is simply because it is not released in your region of the world yet, it will be mid-sep.

This post has been edited by Don Pelotas: 29.08.2012 08:41
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ScottC
post 24.08.2012 00:03
Post #2


Advanced Member I
***

Group: KL USA
Posts: 178
Joined: 7.10.2008
From: New England




QUOTE(Helios @ 23.08.2012 15:29) *
But without Windows 8 support (Version 3370)...


3370 is the first release and does not support Windows 8. Newer builds should, including 4190 which came out in the US today. Kaspersky is not officially supporting Windows 8 until Microsoft's formal release, but we do welcome bug reports.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
white chocolate
post 24.08.2012 02:19
Post #3


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 19.08.2009




Just installed and i must say i'm very impressed.Runs flawlessly on my win7x64 machine.IE9,chrome 21,ff 14 running fantastically and with all addones..extensions enabled.No noticeable impact on boot time.Pages load quickly and no noticeable lag on my online gaming.Impressed with it's resource usage as well.Job well done Kaspersky.Happy to be back bravo.gif bravo.gif


--------------------
KIS 2014 e
Adguard 5.9
IE11EPMw64bitprocenabl
Windows 8.1 PRO x64
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 24.08.2012 03:45
Post #4


Oldtimer
****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 47357
Joined: 14.06.2007




Because it has not been released in your region, yet. Please check again at the Global site: http://www.kaspersky.com/kis_latest_versions

It should be there soon-ish.

Where to download: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=242386

How to clean install upgrade: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=67812

edit: the second Important topic is now the first, and it is a new url, too. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by richbuff: 24.08.2012 10:37


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Midnite1
post 24.08.2012 07:44
Post #5


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 120
Joined: 23.06.2009
From: Toronto, Ontario.




First off, a great job from the developers and beta testers for yet again a fine product from Kaspersky. b_punk.gif
KIS 2013 is as good, if not better than 2012.

1) The download was 157 mb, which seems a bit large compared to KIS 2012, which I believe was ony 83mb.
Is there a reason for the increase in file size?

2) When attempting to clear the Reports, for some reason they are not cleared.

3) Once installed, the program created two desktop Icons, one for KIS and the other for Safe Money,
yet, only the KIS shortcut was created.
I understand that Safe Money can be accessed from the main program, along with the other features, but there's
No shortcut.

4) Can anybody advise if the Skins for KIS 2012 will work with KIS 2013 or should we wait for new ones to be released?

Thanks in advance for your response.


--------------------
If you think Experts are Expensive, wait 'til you see how much Amateurs will cost you!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 24.08.2012 08:26
Post #6


Oldtimer
****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 47357
Joined: 14.06.2007




Merged.

3370 from the Official Website (I got mine from the Official Kaspersky Russian website) does not support Windows 8. Not W8 consumer preview, nor W8 RTM.

KIS MP1 13.0.1.4190 was made to support W8 RTM. It does Not support W8 consumer preview. Officially, W8 is not officially supported until W8 is available for the general public, around late October.

QUOTE
First off, a great job from the developers and beta testers for yet again a fine product from Kaspersky.
KIS 2013 is as good, if not better than 2012.

1) The download was 157 mb, which seems a bit large compared to KIS 2012, which I believe was ony 83mb.
Is there a reason for the increase in file size?

2) When attempting to clear the Reports, for some reason they are not cleared.

3) Once installed, the program created two desktop Icons, one for KIS and the other for Safe Money,
yet, only the KIS shortcut was created.
I understand that Safe Money can be accessed from the main program, along with the other features, but there's
No shortcut.

4) Can anybody advise if the Skins for KIS 2012 will work with KIS 2013 or should we wait for new ones to be released?

Thanks in advance for your response.
1. Small installer has no updates bundled.

3. I am confused after reading your question.

4. Skins are not especially encouraged, to prevent Tech Support from being flooded with tickets that are problems caused by unofficial skins. Product with alternative skin is not supported. Alternative skins are only for a specific build. Skin for older version is not suitable for newer version.

2. I haven't tried yet, dunno.

edit: merged.


This post has been edited by richbuff: 24.08.2012 08:42


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Oldjim
post 24.08.2012 19:37
Post #7


Advanced Member V
*******

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1195
Joined: 23.10.2005




QUOTE(richbuff @ 24.08.2012 10:18) *
Merged.

Migrate to the next build is via download and install. Higher build numbers are not achieved via Automatic Updater.

When the next higher build number is available on the official Kaspersky website, uninstall the old build > reboot > then download and install the next build.

Please see the small print that is located at the bottom of this message.

Can I suggest that the recommendation should be as follows

When the next higher build number is available on the official Kaspersky website,
Download the new build
Uninstall the old build > reboot > then install the next build.
I am a great believer in limiting web access to an absolute minimum when a security package isn't installed
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
menot
post 24.08.2012 21:15
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14.02.2010




Hi to all,

I have an installation problem here. Windows XP SP3 - 3GB RAM

I was using latest version of KIS 2012 till now. Today, I wanted to upgrade to KIS 2013. I uninstalled KIS 2012 using the choice "complete unistall". Then, I clicked the KIS 2013 setup file "kis13.0.1.4190EN_3458.exe" , installation window appeared. After accepting the agreements I saw the reboot warning window which is attached to the post. I let it reboot the computer. When computer started same installation window opened. I tried several times and get the same window repeatedly.

Then,

- Run Advanced Systemcare to clean registry.
- I run kavremover to clean the possible remnant of KIS 2012. Nothing changed.
- Uninstalled Zemana Antilogger because of possible contradictions. Nothing changed.
- I used to have Malwarebyte's Antimalware years ago. Run mbam cleaner. Nothing changed.

I am exhausted and desperate. Get same stupid reboot window for tens of times.

Please, help me! What is wrong with it?

PS: I saw this post. This user has the same problem.
QUOTE(JohnSap @ 24.08.2012 19:38) *
I have been experiencing a strange problem when trying to install either kis or kav 2013. I did a clean uninstall. Tryed uninstaller as well. Installer 2013 show me a window saying installation without javascript. I have no idea why it says without javascript. I checked my setting in windows xp and javascript is on. After proceeding and waiting for installation cyrcle , installer asks for reboot. After reboot, installer starts again from the scratch with no progress after reboots.

Please advise! I had kav 2012 before running with no problem.


This post has been edited by menot: 24.08.2012 21:30
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Snap4.gif ( 57.82K ) Number of downloads: 51
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
white chocolate
post 24.08.2012 22:53
Post #9


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 172
Joined: 19.08.2009




QUOTE(menot @ 24.08.2012 20:15) *
Hi to all,

I have an installation problem here. Windows XP SP3 - 3GB RAM

I was using latest version of KIS 2012 till now. Today, I wanted to upgrade to KIS 2013. I uninstalled KIS 2012 using the choice "complete unistall". Then, I clicked the KIS 2013 setup file "kis13.0.1.4190EN_3458.exe" , installation window appeared. After accepting the agreements I saw the reboot warning window which is attached to the post. I let it reboot the computer. When computer started same installation window opened. I tried several times and get the same window repeatedly.

Then,

- Run Advanced Systemcare to clean registry.
- I run kavremover to clean the possible remnant of KIS 2012. Nothing changed.
- Uninstalled Zemana Antilogger because of possible contradictions. Nothing changed.
- I used to have Malwarebyte's Antimalware years ago. Run mbam cleaner. Nothing changed.

I am exhausted and desperate. Get same stupid reboot window for tens of times.

Please, help me! What is wrong with it?

PS: I saw this post. This user has the same problem.

Sounds to me like you still have remnants of something left in the registry.Please follow the directions here and post a gsi report so we may better help How to post a GSI


--------------------
KIS 2014 e
Adguard 5.9
IE11EPMw64bitprocenabl
Windows 8.1 PRO x64
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
asidana
post 25.08.2012 02:29
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 22.06.2009




QUOTE(menot @ 24.08.2012 17:15) *
Hi to all,

I have an installation problem here. Windows XP SP3 - 3GB RAM

I was using latest version of KIS 2012 till now. Today, I wanted to upgrade to KIS 2013. I uninstalled KIS 2012 using the choice "complete unistall". Then, I clicked the KIS 2013 setup file "kis13.0.1.4190EN_3458.exe" , installation window appeared. After accepting the agreements I saw the reboot warning window which is attached to the post. I let it reboot the computer. When computer started same installation window opened. I tried several times and get the same window repeatedly.

Then,

- Run Advanced Systemcare to clean registry.
- I run kavremover to clean the possible remnant of KIS 2012. Nothing changed.
- Uninstalled Zemana Antilogger because of possible contradictions. Nothing changed.
- I used to have Malwarebyte's Antimalware years ago. Run mbam cleaner. Nothing changed.

I am exhausted and desperate. Get same stupid reboot window for tens of times.

Please, help me! What is wrong with it?

PS: I saw this post. This user has the same problem.


I have exactly the same problem on win7 x64, I have pinpointed error to KIS 2012 uninstallation. It disables/removes JavaScript from IE9. Unfortunately only way I could find was to restore to last week system image to get JavaScript back. You can check it by going google and typing anything. It will not load auto complete. you will not get any error.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhaneshatham
post 25.08.2012 07:46
Post #11


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 84
Joined: 17.03.2012
From: india




hello.
I am using KIS2012 (12.0.0.374).. I am quite happy with that..
Now I found 2013 (13.0.1.4190) is available to be upgraded to..
But I am reluctant to try the new one, because KIS2012 is quite OK for me...
My Q:
1) Do I get the same level protection with 2012.? Is it necessary to upgrade..???
2) Is 2013 more resource-demanding or not..????
3) Is there any NEW features in 2013 which is so important that it can not be neglected...????
-
I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate,32bit, in Core2Duo 2GHz + 2GB RAM machine....
thanks in advance, appreciate all valuable comments..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 25.08.2012 07:56
Post #12


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8970
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




If you are running KIS 2012, you will be able to run KIS 2013 just fine.

It appears pretty stable and fast, however version 2012 by no means will leave you unprotected.

Some improvements regarding safe money for banking would be one area of interest and another would be the Firefox browser extensions, which will work with version 2013, (URL advisor).

Version 2012 will have a patch (j) released soon that will address the extensions for firefox 14 and 15 compatibility.

You would be prudent to wait for a month or 2 to upgrade if you are happy with 2012 smile.gif

This post has been edited by rudger79: 25.08.2012 07:59


--------------------
Tech Article: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 release info, Patch B-E for version 14.0.0.4651


2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
13x
post 25.08.2012 12:43
Post #13


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 9.10.2010




Hello! smile.gif

I was surfing around the web and noticed the 2013 version is now available. Of course, I want to upgrade from 2012 to 2013; however, I don't know if my computer can handle it. I do not have the best equipment in the world and I did not find the system requirements for KIS 2013. Anyway, here is my GSI report: http://www.getsysteminfo.com/read.php?file...428f23fc293dc8b. I don't want my system to get slow...

If I decide to install the 2013 version, is it possible to keep the 2012 product settings? I had a few changes on the default settings and it would save me a lot of work if I could save them between installations. I think it was possible with the 2011 version...

A final doubt,
QUOTE(rudger79)
You would be prudent to wait for a month or 2 to upgrade if you are happy with 2012 smile.gif


I know the answer wasn't directed to me, but why? Isn't the 2013 version as good as the 2012 one already?

This post has been edited by 13x: 25.08.2012 12:46
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
King Grub
post 25.08.2012 12:48
Post #14


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1585
Joined: 4.04.2006
From: Sweden




It is, but there is always the possibility (a quite real possibility) that new bugs will be discovered. A few hundred beta testers is one thing, but when one million users suddenly start to use the programs, with any number of combinations of hardware and software, there will be new issues popping up that the beta period didn't discover, at least with a program as complex as Kaspersky. Which is why it can be a good idea to wait a bit of time to let those issues be sorted first. But it is up to you of course. It has obviously been deemed ready for release, so any bugs should (hopefully) be minor.

If your computer can run Kaspersky 2012, it can run Kaspersky 2013. Kaspersky 2013 is about the same regarding system resources. A bit lighter if anything. Not major, but a bit.

This post has been edited by King Grub: 25.08.2012 13:02
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 25.08.2012 12:58
Post #15


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8970
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




QUOTE(13x @ 25.08.2012 00:43) *
I know the answer wasn't directed to me, but why?
Because as with most new releases there are a few minor issues that appear and sometimes waiting for them to get discovered and rectified is not a bad idea. It is impossible to test on all possible PC configurations so sometimes best to wait a while to see what propagates.

With that said, version 2013 is as stable a release I have experienced. If you are running version 2012, then you will be able to run version 2013 as same system requirements.

You will need to uninstall MBAM first before installing version 2013 then reinstall MBAM after 2013 is installed. Configure mutual exclusions for both Kaspersky and MBAM. Post #2. http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?s...mp;#entry379119

To avoid upgrade issues, uninstall version 2012 without saving settings. You can save activation data but nothing else. Take screenshots of your 2012 custom settings for reference when setting same for 2013.


--------------------
Tech Article: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 release info, Patch B-E for version 14.0.0.4651


2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saeedhashemee
post 25.08.2012 21:19
Post #16


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5.07.2010




problem with online payment

in 2012 version i open safe browsing with my wish and with all bank address
and surf all web pages in secure
now i can not or i must give kasper all web address
many middle east bank not list in kasper database and you must give it manually ,

some one give me answer why kasper removed safe browsing icon in this new version 2013!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i think i must go back to 2012 version and when my account finished try other product

This post has been edited by Saeedhashemee: 25.08.2012 21:21
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kasperskydaz
post 26.08.2012 16:16
Post #17


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 4.08.2012
From: england.




hello,
Im currently using KIS 2012 and i understand 2013 version was released.
How do i upgrade my kaspersky.?
Does it update through the internal updater or do i need to download the new version and then uninstall 2012 and then install the 2013 version.?
Does kaspersky inform me when a new version is ready.?
Thanks. bc.gif


--------------------
Windows7 home premium 64bit.
Kaspersky internet security.
Malwarebytes on demand.
Sandboxie.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
King Grub
post 26.08.2012 16:33
Post #18


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1585
Joined: 4.04.2006
From: Sweden




You need to download the 2013 version, uninstall the 2012 version, then install the 2013 version.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dh27564
post 26.08.2012 18:01
Post #19


Posting guru
*************

Group: Members
Posts: 4373
Joined: 6.06.2009
From: KCLE




Also, after uninstalling the 2012 version, be sure to reboot. Install 2013 as King Grub advises. Then do a database update and reboot once more. Patches to the current version are handled through the automatic (or manual) update process. When a new version is issued, an uninstall/install is required.

There is more information here: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=67812

This post has been edited by dh27564: 26.08.2012 18:03
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kouros
post 26.08.2012 23:48
Post #20


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 14.10.2009




can someone tell me exactly "Whats New in KIS 2013" ? because im using KIS 2012 & i should know the changes before upgrading...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18.04.2014 06:58