IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kaspersky has highjacked my PC - avp.exe @ 99%, High CPU for any and no reason
Distendo
post 19.04.2012 17:06
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19.04.2012




My PC is virtually unusable because kaspersky (2011) avp.exe has recently started to hog the cpu, for no readily apparent reason. Anything and nothing seems to provoke it, and there it is at 99%, clogging up everything. I reckon it increases the time taken for my PC to accomplish some tasks by 600% or more... I've taken to ending the program just so I can achieve some tasks, which is a real stupid thing to have to do.

This was a fresh/clean install of k2011 after re-installing XP a month or so ago. I reckon there's been some update glitch. It's a real nuisance. I've disabled 'advanced disinfection technology and enabled 'concede resources' in the compatibility settings to no effect.

I have a 3PC copy of K2012 ready to install here (there's a few days left on k2011), but from reading various posts, I'm not too optimistic that'll solve the problem. It was this sort of program irritation that made me ditch Norton three years ago (though actually ditching the installed program was a different story, since NIS is like Japanese Knot Weed in your OS).

BTW, clicking on 'Support' from the K2011 interface takes me to a 'new version' page (http://www.kaspersky-help.com/new_version/), where there's an invitiation to Download and save the newest version 11.0.1.400. Clicking on the link bar to do so takes me to a page entirely devoted to version 12.0.0.374. That's another waste of time I don't need.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Baz^^
post 19.04.2012 17:08
Post #2


Wrestling Champion
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8799
Joined: 10.03.2007




Hi,

Please provide a link to your getsysteminfo log.

Please visit the fifth important topic at the top of the forum in which you have posted for instructions (http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showforum=4)


--------------------
Kind Regards,

Baz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
C. Diepenbroek
post 20.04.2012 17:56
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 24.10.2011
From: Netherlands




An update for 2011 can have this effect on some systems. Please remove 2011 and install 2012, this should solve the issue.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Distendo
post 26.04.2012 20:27
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19.04.2012




QUOTE(C. Diepenbroek @ 20.04.2012 16:56) *
An update for 2011 can have this effect on some systems. Please remove 2011 and install 2012, this should solve the issue.

Thanks Baz.
I used the utility (getsysteminfo) but have to say I'm not keen that it uploads such detailed system info without letting you review it first... I'm not suggesting it includes what may be considered 'personal' info, but I'm still not entirely happy with it, though I appreciate it may be of considerable practical benefit.
However, after losing my ADSL connection for about 24 hours, I got round to installing Kaspersky AV 2012 (accidentally bought the AV instead of the IS package, which I have now ordered... :-/ ) and as Diepenbroek suggested, the problem has gone. My email prog opens in about 3 seconds instead of 30+, and every prog I've used is able to function unimpeded (so I'm thinking that the getsysteminfo approach would be irrelevant in this instance).
Whatever that KIS 2011 update is that causes such a total snarl-up, it really is something I hope Kaspersky take pains to avoid in future!
I'll post again when I've upgraded to KIS and see how that performs.
Thanks for taking an interest. It's appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Distendo
post 28.04.2012 05:36
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19.04.2012




QUOTE(Distendo @ 26.04.2012 19:27) *
<snip>I'll post again when I've upgraded to KIS and see how that performs.<snip>

I've upgraded to KIS 2012 and (so far) all's well, i.e. my PC actually functions with KIS running...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
loooking
post 3.05.2012 08:23
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 3.05.2012




Have 3pcs and only have the acp.exe problem on 1 pc. I believe the problem is related to those pc's with nvidia video drivers .Removed Kaspersky AV from that pc and replaced it with another product. BINGO problem gone. this is related to Kaspersky AV 2012. IMHO
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 3.05.2012 09:00
Post #7


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9247
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




Welcome
QUOTE(loooking @ 2.05.2012 20:23) *
...only have the acp.exe problem on 1 pc.
From that PC, Please post the link of your GetSystemInfo report by following the four steps outlined here: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...post&p=5395

This post has been edited by rudger79: 3.05.2012 09:01


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Distendo
post 6.05.2012 05:03
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19.04.2012




QUOTE(loooking @ 3.05.2012 07:23) *
Have 3pcs and only have the acp.exe problem on 1 pc. I believe the problem is related to those pc's with nvidia video drivers .Removed Kaspersky AV from that pc and replaced it with another product. BINGO problem gone. this is related to Kaspersky AV 2012. IMHO


I have two PCs with Nvidia graphics cards, and so far, no problem with KIS 2012 (running on XP pro).

This post has been edited by Distendo: 6.05.2012 05:04
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31.10.2014 08:51