IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> When will the 'Klactgui' utility embedded in KSC 9 be updated to use v4.1 of GSI?
gprince
post 25.02.2012 00:07
Post #1


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 4.11.2011
From: Charlotte, NC




We manage 15,000 nodes with two Kaspersky Security Center 9 administration servers and the majority of nodes are running Kaspersky Endpoint Security 8, so it is critical that we be able to effectively gather data from systems remotely for troubleshooting purposes.

The remote diagnostics utility (Klactgui) that can be run from KSC 9 on a system remotely is great; however, the 'Load system information' option currently leverages version 3.0 of GSI rather than the current version (v4.1)! Does anyone know of a way to update KSC 9 so that it uses v4.1 or does anyone know when this will become available?

Thanks!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawinci
post 29.02.2012 13:30
Post #2


Support specialist
*******

Group: KL Germany
Posts: 1013
Joined: 4.06.2008
From: Ingolstadt




QUOTE(gprince @ 24.02.2012 21:07) *
We manage 15,000 nodes with two Kaspersky Security Center 9 administration servers and the majority of nodes are running Kaspersky Endpoint Security 8, so it is critical that we be able to effectively gather data from systems remotely for troubleshooting purposes.

The remote diagnostics utility (Klactgui) that can be run from KSC 9 on a system remotely is great; however, the 'Load system information' option currently leverages version 3.0 of GSI rather than the current version (v4.1)! Does anyone know of a way to update KSC 9 so that it uses v4.1 or does anyone know when this will become available?

Thanks!!

Hi gprince,

well, frankly speaking, there is actually no ETA for including GSI4 in Remote Diagnostics Utility.

Anyway, there are workarounds for using GSI4 remotely from Security Center:
* using Custom Tools (http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&showtopic=206922&view=findpost&p=1649111)
* using "Task for specific computers" to execute it on multiple computers


GetSystemInfo4 does not contain any parameters which can be used for remote execution, so it's not possible by default adding it into custom tools in Security Center. A workaround has to be used, which is given by using psexec.exe utility, provided as freeware by Sysinternals. Starting psexec with appreciate switches, psexec will copy a bat file (gsi4.bat) to the client computer and executes it.
The bat file itself copies the GetSystemInfo4.exe, which is located on a hidden share, locally to %temp% and executes it on the client with correspondig switches. Using the path switch the GSI report will be written to the same hidden share and voila.. it's done.

Bat-File with errorlevel:
@echo off
set GSI=\\DC2008R2\Share$
copy %GSI%\GetSystemInfo4.exe %temp%\ /Y >NUL
if errorlevel 1 goto error1
%temp%\GetSystemInfo4.exe /quiet /qn /path=%GSI%\ /l=2
goto exit

:error1
echo.
echo Sorry, cannot copy GetSystemInfo4.exe from specified source...
echo.
echo Is the share really available from target computer?
echo Is the filename of GetSystemInfo executable correct?
echo.
echo press ENTER to exit
pause>NUL

:exit


That's it smile.gif

If you need more details, please PM me.

BR,
dawinci
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Unbenannt.jpg ( 155.13K ) Number of downloads: 20
Attached File  Unbenannt.jpg ( 155.13K ) Number of downloads: 19
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Helmut
post 2.03.2012 12:30
Post #3


True legend
***************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 12006
Joined: 23.06.2005




Hi gprince,

I got the information from dawinci that GSI4 will be implemented in CF2.

Helmut
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gprince
post 3.03.2012 00:24
Post #4


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 4.11.2011
From: Charlotte, NC




dawinci and Helmut,

Thank you both for the update. Any estimated date yet on when Kaspersky expects to release CF2 for KSC9? Do we think it will be before June/July?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Helmut
post 5.03.2012 11:32
Post #5


True legend
***************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 12006
Joined: 23.06.2005




Hopefully end of March.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Helmut
post 27.03.2012 11:26
Post #6


True legend
***************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 12006
Joined: 23.06.2005




In the beta of CF2 is the latest version 4.1.0.425 integrated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gprince
post 27.03.2012 16:22
Post #7


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 101
Joined: 4.11.2011
From: Charlotte, NC




Excellent, thanks for the update Helmut.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24.04.2014 18:57