Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Password Manager causes avp.exe not responding
epsilons
post 16.10.2011 03:08
Post #1

Group: Members

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Kaspersky; just moved over from big-M.

Was not really sure whether to post this question here or in Password Manager forum.

I installed K.PURE just over a week ago and mostly seems to be working well. A couple of days ago, I activated Password Manager, with IE, Chrome and Firefox plug-ins. I also did the update for Firefox 7 compatibility and PM seemed to be working well too. But after this, when I shutdown, I almost always got avp.exe not responding error and sometimes also TrueImageMonitor.exe (an Acronis process) not responding and had to terminate both.

Since, the timing of the problem was so clearly coincidental with the activation of PM, I decided today to disable PM again. Since (strangely) PM seems to have no enable/disable function in the PURE settings, I flagged Stpass.exe as untrusted to prevent it loading. After a reboot to clear the running version of Stpass, my next shutdown was fine and several shutdown/restart cycles have since passed off without any problem.

So it seems that running of Stpass.exe is causing 'not responding' conditions to occur, particularly in avp.exe, when shutting down.

Anyone else seeing this problem? Anyone know of an easy solution? If there is no simple solution then I'll just go back to using the Firefox Password Manager, as I was doing before, and leave Stpass.exe blocked.

I'm running XP Pro SP3 on an 8-core 3GHz Skulltrail machine, about 3 years old, 4GB memory (not all used, of course). PURE v. 9.1.0.124 (a.b).

Thanks,
e.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
richbuff
post 16.10.2011 04:43
Post #2

Are You Kidding?

Group: Global moderators

Welcome. 1. Click here to download the GetSystemInfo tool
2. Unzip, run getsysteminfo.exe. Choose where you wish to save the text file, the desktop is the easy choice.