IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Desktop Icon Is Missing [ Gadget ], [merged to prevent cross-posting]
hooch21
post 15.01.2011 18:18
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15.01.2011




I just noticed today that the Kapersky Desktop Icon is missing from my desktop.

I did not remove it(intentionally anyway).

I would like to get it back but I would also like ot know if it means anything(like some malicious software removed it...)

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dh27564
post 15.01.2011 18:32
Post #2


Posting guru
*************

Group: Members
Posts: 4687
Joined: 6.06.2009
From: KCLE




When you say the desktop icon, are you referring to the red "K" icon that usually appears in the system tray (lower-right of screen)? If so, go to Start > All Programs > Kaspersky and try to start the program from there.


--------------------
D. Henderson
Cleveland, Ohio USA
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BuJasim
post 15.01.2011 18:34
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 14.01.2011




Kaspersky doesn't have a desktop icon; but does have a desktop gadget for Windows 7 as far as I know.

If you wish to have a desktop shortcut. follow the steps:

Start-->All Programs-->Kaspersky Antivirus 20XX or Kaspersky Internet Security 20XX (folder)--> Right-click on KAV or KIS-->Send to-->desktop
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ron351
post 15.01.2011 18:38
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 14.09.2010




QUOTE(hooch21 @ 15.01.2011 10:18) *
I just noticed today that the Kapersky Desktop Icon is missing from my desktop.

I did not remove it(intentionally anyway).

I would like to get it back but I would also like ot know if it means anything(like some malicious software removed it...)

Thanks

Just go to start/programs then at kaspersky internet security 2011 let the menu open up and right click on kaspersky internet security 2011 and select "send to" and let it expand and click "Desktop (create shortcut) and that will put a new shortcut icon on your desktop


--------------------
Ron
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hooch21
post 15.01.2011 21:28
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15.01.2011




QUOTE(Ron351 @ 15.01.2011 17:38) *
Just go to start/programs then at kaspersky internet security 2011 let the menu open up and right click on kaspersky internet security 2011 and select "send to" and let it expand and click "Desktop (create shortcut) and that will put a new shortcut icon on your desktop


I think what I am referring to is the Kapersky Desktop Gadget. Its a rather big icon but it is more than an icon , yes, it is a gadget. That was on my desktop for along time but I noticed today it is missing. How can I get that back?

Since I know now that it is the Kepersky Gadget I am referring to I looked it up on Kapersky Help. Do you know that it does not tell us in that Help how to bring up the Kapersky gadget? It just says it is placed on the desktop when Kapersky is first loaded but does not tell us how to put it back on the desktop at a later time!

Thanks

This post has been edited by hooch21: 15.01.2011 21:34
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BuJasim
post 15.01.2011 21:31
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 14.01.2011




QUOTE(hooch21 @ 15.01.2011 21:28) *
I think what I am referring to is the Kapersky Desktop Gadget. Its a rather big icon but it is more than an icon , yes, it is a gadget. That was on my desktop for along time but I noticed today it is missing. How can I get that back?

Thanks


Right-click in the desk-top and select "screen gadgets", press on Kaspersky gadget and it would appear on your desktop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hooch21
post 15.01.2011 21:35
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 15.01.2011




QUOTE(BuJasim @ 15.01.2011 20:31) *
Right-click in the desk-top and select "screen gadgets", press on Kaspersky gadget and it would appear on your desktop.



Thanks. It is now back on my desktop!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Arid Gal
post 16.01.2014 18:19
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11.05.2012




QUOTE(hooch21 @ 15.01.2011 17:18) *
I just noticed today that the Kapersky Desktop Icon is missing from my desktop.

I did not remove it(intentionally anyway).

I would like to get it back but I would also like ot know if it means anything(like some malicious software removed it...)

Thanks

dash1.gif Gee whiz, I am having the very same problem as from Dec '13. I have the Red 'K' in the systems tray but I don't have the 'Green Monitor' with the 'settings' etc, I guess you call it a gadget, that I can click on where I can see it on my desktop. Sorry folk but a 'newbie' I'm not. I am a 'premmy baby' when it comes to online forums. After logging in to reply to this post, I couldn't even find it so I had to go 'my history' to get back here!!! I'm in Australia & the number for Tech support here is 1300 762 833. Looks like I'll have to ring because while all the help posted should have done the job, I still have not got my big green monitor on my desktop assuring me that Kaspersky is enabled.

Running Windows 7 -32 bit - and am up to date as far as scans go. Not through my doing. Only because the 'rectangle' has popped up to ask if I want a full scan or giving me the results of it. I love kaspersky, it's great and well worth it. No spam since 1st purchase 3 years ago.

Dreadfully sorry to all those who posted the 'how to'. It is obviously so logical. I tried it all and nothing happened. I DID follow all 'destructions' to the letter but with no luck. I am going to bookmark this page so that I can get back to it!!! Such are my navigation skills -lack of big time!!

Thanks a zillion to all who posted the 'how to', I hope if I reboot I can get my big green monitor back -Huh!! Not likely thinks this 'ye ole bush chook'. Anything I do on a computer that is correct, I have done by accident and therefore do not know how I did it.
Now you can feel sorry for all those techs out there on the other end of the line when I phone!!
Cheers & Thanks for replying to Hooch 21 who had the same problem.
Oh gee, now I can't find how to submit this!! Wish me luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Arid Gal
post 16.01.2014 18:33
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11.05.2012




QUOTE(hooch21 @ 15.01.2011 20:35) *
Thanks. It is now back on my desktop!

Was Hoping & praying hooch 21 that your post would work for me. I right clicked on my desktop and the gadgets came up.
Yes Kaspersky monitor was there. I right clicked on it and it said 'Add' & 'Uninstall' so I selected 'ADD' and still nothing.
Oh well 1.31am here and trying to cool down.
if all else fails, I will phone poor Kaspersky.
Thank you very, very, much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 16.01.2014 18:41
Post #10


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9282
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




QUOTE(Arid Gal @ 16.01.2014 06:33) *
Was Hoping & praying hooch 21 that your post would work for me. I right clicked on my desktop and the gadgets came up.
Yes Kaspersky monitor was there. I right clicked on it and it said 'Add' & 'Uninstall' so I selected 'ADD' and still nothing.
Welcome. Instead of right click, just double click with the left mouse button on the kaspersky icon.


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bromikey
post 20.02.2014 14:15
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 20.02.2014




QUOTE(BuJasim @ 15.01.2011 09:31) *
Right-click in the desk-top and select "screen gadgets", press on Kaspersky gadget and it would appear on your desktop.

Thank you "BuJasim'. I had clicked the gadget off when installing Uverse. Did not even know to call it a gadget. It is now restored bravo.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick Diamand
post 20.10.2014 22:39
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3.11.2012




Hello, I know MS has discontinued gadgets for security reasons & I was wondering if anyone has come up w/ an alternative. The best I can do is pin Kaspersky to the task bar, leave it open & check every now & then. But it sure was nice to see that green tick when I started up. Thanks, Nick.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Indio
post 21.10.2014 08:00
Post #13


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 23.09.2012
From: Canada




QUOTE(Nick Diamand @ 20.10.2014 10:39) *
Hello, I know MS has discontinued gadgets for security reasons & I was wondering if anyone has come up w/ an alternative. The best I can do is pin Kaspersky to the task bar, leave it open & check every now & then. But it sure was nice to see that green tick when I started up. Thanks, Nick.


Hi-Nick: I just red out your post and letMe tell you-that there's a website that reinvented the MS-Gadgets..of course the Kaspersky Gadget is not included anymore. Let's hope that Kaspersky come up with a solution soon-because they could include the Gadget as shortcut, when we install a new ver. of [KIS] as they do with Safe money" Why not" if other AV-do it.

Like I said it there's a website that offers the (MS-Gadgets)" you can add to the desktop the: Calendar-CPU+Ram-Weather,.et. Scroll down to the bottom to find the link to install the app: http://winaero.com/blog/desktop-gadgets-an...or-windows-8-1/ ..I have it in my Win's 8.1- So far it works Ok. I don't know what ver. of windows do you've. Anyway install it if you wan to & report results to forum. Regards <Indio>

This post has been edited by Indio: 21.10.2014 08:16
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nick Diamand
post 29.10.2014 21:22
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 3.11.2012




QUOTE(Indio @ 21.10.2014 07:00) *
Hi-Nick: I just red out your post and letMe tell you-that there's a website that reinvented the MS-Gadgets..of course the Kaspersky Gadget is not included anymore. Let's hope that Kaspersky come up with a solution soon-because they could include the Gadget as shortcut, when we install a new ver. of [KIS] as they do with Safe money" Why not" if other AV-do it.

Like I said it there's a website that offers the (MS-Gadgets)" you can add to the desktop the: Calendar-CPU+Ram-Weather,.et. Scroll down to the bottom to find the link to install the app: http://winaero.com/blog/desktop-gadgets-an...or-windows-8-1/ ..I have it in my Win's 8.1- So far it works Ok. I don't know what ver. of windows do you've. Anyway install it if you wan to & report results to forum. Regards <Indio>


Indio, thanks for your reply. Actually I have figured out how to get the other gadgets eg clock, calendar, etc by following o/l instructions to tune off then on the Windows 7 Features option for gadgets. W/ no KIS gadget though will have to wait, I guess, until next version of KIS. Meanwhile, have it on my task bar & check from time to time. Thanks again, Nick.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Egor Kurnev
post 4.11.2014 16:14
Post #15


Technical Support Engineer
*******

Group: KL Russia
Posts: 1189
Joined: 9.04.2014




There is no real need to check Kaspersky status that frequently. The main point is to see whether Kaspersky is running (not crashed) and this can be done via tray icon. If anything security related happens on your machine be sure KIS would notify you.

I seriously doubt further versions of KIS will have some sort of gadget. Latest versions designed in way that you leave everything to KIS\KAV and let them do its work. You will be notified in case your attention is needed.


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jenny_wickett
post 9.11.2014 23:47
Post #16


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9.11.2014




Hello,
I have found my gadget gallery but Kaspersky desktop gadget is nowhere to be found!

Has it been axed in the new 2015 version??

I was using an older version but need to renew my licence so decided to upgrade to 1015. Now I have lost the desktop gadget that I have come to rely on so much.

I understand there were a few vulnerabilities with it but I don't want to be without it!

It says in some of the places selling 2015 that it DOES come with the gadget eg http://www.antivirussales.com/store/kasper...ar-3user-global
but I cant find it! sad.gif

Please help!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jenny_wickett
post 10.11.2014 00:05
Post #17


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 9.11.2014




So how do you know when you need to update the software?
It was always asking me to run a sync to keep the software current. if we only get a little pop-up balloon now when important things need doing it will be largely ignored like these things usually are as you get so many usless pop ups to update not so imprtant things. This gadget was the main reason I used Kaspersky!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adam 1972
post 10.11.2014 01:44
Post #18


Advanced Member V
*******

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1100
Joined: 28.11.2009
From: Cornwall,U.K




The gadget has been discontinued in version 2015.
http://support.kaspersky.co.uk/9901

QUOTE(Egor Kurnev @ 4.11.2014 05:14) *
There is no real need to check Kaspersky status that frequently. The main point is to see whether Kaspersky is running (not crashed) and this can be done via tray icon. If anything security related happens on your machine be sure KIS would notify you.

I seriously doubt further versions of KIS will have some sort of gadget. Latest versions designed in way that you leave everything to KIS\KAV and let them do its work. You will be notified in case your attention is needed.


//edit: merged to prevent cross-posting, and important quote added to this last post, and Closed; as this era has ended.
Please do not bump up ancient topics. Please do not post same issue in multiple topic threads.

This post has been edited by richbuff: 10.11.2014 06:45


--------------------
Real machine, custom Build with ASUS® Z87-K: ATX, USB2.0, USB3.0, SATA6GB/S, XFIRE Motherboard, Intel® Core™i7 Quad Core Processor i7-4770 (3.4GHz) 8MB Cache, Windows 8.1 update 1 x64 with all updates, 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast Dual-DDR3 2400MHz X.M.P, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 graphics, 2x1Tb internal drives, Firefox 33.1.1 (Default Browser), Palemoon 24.7.1, Internet Explorer 11, Kaspersky Total Security 2015 MR2 beta latest build.

GetSystemInfo Instructions Product Updates Submit Tech Support Request How to take a screenshot

Gold Beta Tester KIS/KTS 2015
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23.11.2014 20:54