IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Cannot Remove not-a-virus:AdWare.Win32.HotBar.dh
Marcus89
post 15.12.2010 17:41
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15.12.2010




Hi,

Recently I was warned of the above virus by Kaspersky and was recommended to remove it immediately, which I did. However, the virus still seems to be on the computer as Kaspersky has warned me about it numerous times post the supposed deletion date. I noticed the first warning was around the time I was having ads popping up in IE when that browser wasn't even in use. Also, when I click "Fix it Now" the process sometimes does not complete and the virus will prevent me from restarting my computer the conventional way, and I end up having to pull the power. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjmcc5150
post 16.12.2010 01:07
Post #2


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16.12.2010




QUOTE(Marcus89 @ 15.12.2010 13:41) *
Hi,

Recently I was warned of the above virus by Kaspersky and was recommended to remove it immediately, which I did. However, the virus still seems to be on the computer as Kaspersky has warned me about it numerous times post the supposed deletion date. I noticed the first warning was around the time I was having ads popping up in IE when that browser wasn't even in use. Also, when I click "Fix it Now" the process sometimes does not complete and the virus will prevent me from restarting my computer the conventional way, and I end up having to pull the power. Any help will be greatly appreciated.



I am experiencing the same problem - Kaspersky will not 'neutralise' the threat, the 'Fix it now' button, doesn't ... and the 'large yellow button' does nothing but but tell me that the detected threat, adware not-a-virus:adware.win32.hotbar.dh, is there but wont clear it or quarantine it.

Answers on a postcard...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 16.12.2010 04:03
Post #3


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000217
Joined: 14.06.2007




Welcome. Please attach the zipped virusinfo_syscure.zip; instructions, see: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...st&p=678334


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaysey
post 16.12.2010 16:40
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16.12.2010




QUOTE(richbuff @ 16.12.2010 03:03) *
Welcome. Please attach the zipped virusinfo_syscure.zip; instructions, see: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...st&p=678334

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus89
post 16.12.2010 21:05
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 15.12.2010




Okay, I've uploaded it with this post.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  virusinfo_syscure.zip ( 38,84K ) Number of downloads: 17
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 17.12.2010 05:18
Post #6


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000217
Joined: 14.06.2007




It is not showing up in avz. Scan with Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware: http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php Update it first, scan and attach its log, but Please Don't remove anything yet, until the log is reviewed.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjmcc5150
post 18.12.2010 14:20
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16.12.2010




QUOTE(richbuff @ 16.12.2010 00:03) *
Welcome. Please attach the zipped virusinfo_syscure.zip; instructions, see: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s=&am...st&p=678334



Thanks for any advice smile.gif
Attached File(s)
Attached File  virusinfo_syscure.zip ( 25,97K ) Number of downloads: 7
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 19.12.2010 02:51
Post #8


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000217
Joined: 14.06.2007




Scan with Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware: http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php Update it first, scan and attach its log, but Please Don't remove anything yet, until the log is reviewed.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjmcc5150
post 19.12.2010 19:01
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16.12.2010




QUOTE(richbuff @ 18.12.2010 22:51) *
Scan with Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware: http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php Update it first, scan and attach its log, but Please Don't remove anything yet, until the log is reviewed.



Many thanks for anything you can suggest smile.gifsmile.gif
Attached File(s)
Attached File  mbam_log_2010_12_19__15_00_32_.txt ( 1,62K ) Number of downloads: 13
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 20.12.2010 04:02
Post #10


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000217
Joined: 14.06.2007




You're welcome. Remove selected what Malwarebytes detects, except for aoa dvd creator\aoadvdcreator.exe. Especially if aoa dvd creator is from the official source.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjmcc5150
post 22.12.2010 00:23
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16.12.2010




QUOTE(richbuff @ 20.12.2010 00:02) *
You're welcome. Remove selected what Malwarebytes detects, except for aoa dvd creator\aoadvdcreator.exe. Especially if aoa dvd creator is from the official source.


Hi, Kaspersky is still showing as amber rather than green and I am unsure why. I repeated the steps outlined and nothing new was discovered. Any thoughts?

I am using Kaspersky anti-Virus 2011 which is fully up to date (not even sure why after paying for Kaspersky I needed to use a third party piece of software)

Thanks for anything you can suggest!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 22.12.2010 04:49
Post #12


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000217
Joined: 14.06.2007




Post screenshot of Detected > Active threats. With columns widened to show full detected and name and object and path/location details. If Active Threats is empty, then please post All Detected screenshot.

How to take and post screenshot: PrtSc (Print screen) key (upper right part of keyboard)> open Paint (Start > All programs > Accessories) > Edit > Paste, File > Save as (jpeg or
png, Not bmp). When replying, Browse > click once to select file > Open > Upload > add reply.


(Possibly because it is adware, and possibly be uninstalled)


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cjmcc5150
post 22.12.2010 11:38
Post #13


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16.12.2010




QUOTE(richbuff @ 22.12.2010 00:49) *
Post screenshot of Detected > Active threats. With columns widened to show full detected and name and object and path/location details. If Active Threats is empty, then please post All Detected screenshot.

How to take and post screenshot: PrtSc (Print screen) key (upper right part of keyboard)> open Paint (Start > All programs > Accessories) > Edit > Paste, File > Save as (jpeg or
png, Not bmp). When replying, Browse > click once to select file > Open > Upload > add reply.


(Possibly because it is adware, and possibly be uninstalled)


Uninstalled the software it made reference to and Kaspersky is now happy and smiling green green green.

Thanks for all your help and support, happy holidays smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23.09.2014 18:23