Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ok, Kaspersky 6.0 messed up my system
sim_soul
post 1.08.2006 16:59
Post #1

Group: Members

Hello there,

I am a kasperky fan (or propably used to be). I am not a professional computer user, but I think I have enough background to judge on what happened.

here is what happened:

I bought a laptop a month ago with Symantec antivirus already installed. I uninstalled it and installed kaspersky 6 (based on my good experience with kaspersky 5 installed on my home PC), After installing kaspersky 6 on my laptop the update application was not connecting and kept giving me error in connecting for a week. After 1 week it just worked I dont know how, but eventually my kaspersky got updated.

Now, After that update .. I kept getting warnings from kaspersky for trusted windows application and I thought that was cool since kaspersky is a powerful program and everytime it warns me about a trusted application I click "Skip".

Last week kaspersky's unlimited and non stop warnings kept showing up with that ugly and scary voice and this time it was a virus called "Win/Jeefo" which is a weak virus described as "low harm", but kaspersky's options were to only disinfect or delete the files infected, ofcourse I choosed disinfect or something like that, but not delete.

this later resulted in:

- losing many important windows applications like svchost.exe
- installed programs and drivers stoped working (for example soundMax)
- lost almost all media Codecs.
- some Microsoft office applications r no longer working.

I believe that if this happened with the previous Symantec antivirus, the case wouldnt be the same.

anyhow, I had a good experience with kaspersky before and i think it is one of the powerful antivirus applications, but propably tooo powerful that it ruined my system.

Now I am taking my laptop back to the company for a format and a re-installation of the Windows XP professional.