IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pop-up blocker, Doesn't seem to work...
Nemesi
post 24.07.2006 23:49
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 22.07.2006
From: Italy




Hi,

I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security 6 and I have the pop-up blocker running, but I see that pop-ups aren't blocked:
-with Firefox pop-ups are blocked by its internal pop-up blocker
-with other browser (like Flock) pop-ups continue to appear

Is there any option I haven't set right, or when at the beginning KIS asked me what to do with browsers (like Firefox or Flock here) I gave them too much permissions?

Thanks a lot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lucian Bara
post 24.07.2006 23:51
Post #2


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 56947
Joined: 28.01.2006
From: Timisoara, Romania




Hello.
The popup blocker only works with IE.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Littlemutt
post 13.08.2006 02:33
Post #3


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 68
Joined: 16.07.2006




QUOTE(lucianbara @ 24.07.2006 15:51)
Hello.
The popup blocker only works with IE.
*


What a shame. I just installed KIS for a test drive, and was really enjoying the speed, and small footprint.

As an avid Firefox user and tester this oversight is just not acceptable.

Back to Outpost + Nod32

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060812 Minefield/3.0a1, Firefox ID:2006081213 [cairo]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 13.08.2006 03:04
Post #4


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28880
Joined: 7.04.2005




QUOTE(Littlemutt @ 13.08.2006 00:33)
What a shame.  I just installed KIS for a test drive, and was really enjoying the speed, and small footprint. 

As an avid Firefox user and tester this oversight is just not acceptable.

Back to Outpost + Nod32

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060812 Minefield/3.0a1, Firefox ID:2006081213 [cairo]
*

So you enjoyed the speed, and small footprint........but because you're an avid Firefox user and tester (which does have a popup blocker) are going to look past Kaspersky as a possibility....hmmm. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Littlemutt
post 13.08.2006 03:19
Post #5


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 68
Joined: 16.07.2006




QUOTE(Don Pelotas @ 12.08.2006 19:04)
So you enjoyed the speed, and small footprint........but because you're an avid Firefox user and tester (which does have a popup blocker) are going to look past Kaspersky as a possibility....hmmm. smile.gif
*


Yes, as well as firefox does with pop-ups, it does not block them all, ala the popups on CNN's site. Outpost does block these as well as ZApro. ZApro has had its share of issues the past few updates and I'm exploring around.

When and if support for Firefox is added then I might try later, until then ?

Thanks for the drive
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060812 Minefield/3.0a1, Firefox ID:2006081213 [cairo]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DefineByte
post 13.08.2006 03:46
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 13.08.2006




Firefox's popup blocker is very tweakable. If you get popups on cnn.com (I don't) maybe you could look into it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Whizard
post 13.08.2006 06:59
Post #7


Professional
***************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 20710
Joined: 19.11.2005
From: Toronto/Canada




Thats certanly your choice. Good Luck on your endevours smile.gif


--------------------
Networking and Security Guru
~^Whizard^~
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blurr
post 13.08.2006 07:15
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 10.08.2006




I don't think CNN has popups. I've browsed it with Ie 6 with no popup blocker installed and didn't get anything. Perhaps you have adware on your computer?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Whizard
post 13.08.2006 07:51
Post #9


Professional
***************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 20710
Joined: 19.11.2005
From: Toronto/Canada




QUOTE(Blurr @ 12.08.2006 23:15)
I don't think CNN has popups. I've browsed it with Ie 6 with no popup blocker installed and didn't get anything. Perhaps you have adware on your computer?
*

No point trying to convince someone who already made up their decisions.


--------------------
Networking and Security Guru
~^Whizard^~
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Patrik
post 13.08.2006 08:32
Post #10


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 1.10.2005




QUOTE(Whizard @ 13.08.2006 04:51)
No point trying to convince someone who already made up their decisions.
*


Just my thoughts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sall
post 13.08.2006 09:31
Post #11


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1468
Joined: 6.01.2006




I cant belive anyone would give up on kav just because of a few popups, I know I wouldnt cool.gif

But as Whizard said no point trying to convince him if he has already decided not to.

Nod32 aint that bad either, but when u could get the best well .... biggrin.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Sall: 13.08.2006 09:31


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
p2u
post 13.08.2006 09:33
Post #12


Guest
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 7775
Joined: 7.12.2005
From: Ring 0




QUOTE(Nemesi @ 24.07.2006 23:49)
Hi,
SNIP
*

Back to Outpost!?!

First of all, as a Firefox user, why don't you install the extensions:
NoScript:
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/722/
Adblock:
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/10/

Ads are just java and javascripts tricks. Think about the good things you leave behind if you go to the competitor.
For example: Outpost's services are directly linked to its windows. That's a big DON'T in security. Did you know that?
And it's icons have a vulnerability that may lead to escalation of user rights (it's not so hard to write some malware that exploits this). They've been warned from the very beginning and refuse to change this.

Paul Wynant
Moscow, Russia

This post has been edited by p2u: 13.08.2006 09:53


--------------------
Adblock Plus content blocking filter: * (= show text only anywhere)
Exception rule for all: @@*$stylesheet (= show style sheet only anywhere)
Default exception rule for white-listed sites: domain name/$background,image (= images only from that domain only; no scripts, objects, or other elements)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blurr
post 13.08.2006 09:37
Post #13


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 10.08.2006




I don't think we'll be getting a reply from Nemesi.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 13.08.2006 11:57
Post #14


Kaspersky Fan II
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 2172
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon-Athens Hellas (Greece)




QUOTE(Blurr @ 13.08.2006 08:37)
I don't think we'll be getting a reply from Nemesi.
*


Me too!!!!! tongue.gif


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Piston Ron
post 13.08.2006 12:01
Post #15


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Members
Posts: 1479
Joined: 25.04.2005
From: Lebanon, Ohio




Actually, I understand the chagrin of Nemesi and Littlemutt, but as Don points out, I don't think that I would choose an AV based on its popup-blocking ability. wink.gif

Just my 0.02, and at the risk of being accused of beating a dead horse, I too find it disconcerting that KL only develops products with MS apps in mind --- IE, ActiveX, Outlook, OE, .NET, Windows Installer, etc.. It is not clear whether or not the devs test their products on anything other than MS clients and apps. Whenever someone tries to force me to use any client, I usually look for another solution. I have a license for KIS, but I will probably never use anything other than KAV because of this. As I said, just my 0.02.

And then there is that AOL thing ... [grin] tongue.gif

BTW, for those of you who use KIS popup-blocking, does it block the popups on this site? The reason that I ask is that my PFW (Sunbelt-Kerio) does block the popups. I actually find this to be quite humorous, but then I have a weird sense of humor. laugh.gif

Ron smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
p2u
post 13.08.2006 12:19
Post #16


Guest
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 7775
Joined: 7.12.2005
From: Ring 0




QUOTE(Piston Ron @ 13.08.2006 12:01)
I don't think that I would choose an AV based on its popup-blocking ability. wink.gif
*

Exactly right!
QUOTE(Piston Ron @ 13.08.2006 12:01)
at the risk of being accused of beating a dead horse, I too find it disconcerting that KL only develops products with MS apps in mind --- IE, ActiveX, Outlook, OE, .NET, Windows Installer, etc.. It is not clear whether or not the devs test their products on anything other than MS clients and apps.
*

The horse ain't dead yet, so nobody is going to accuse you... biggrin.gif
I think you're making a very strong point here... I mean, those are applications that have a very, very sad history.
QUOTE(Piston Ron @ 13.08.2006 12:01)
popups on this site
*

Huh?! What pop-ups? biggrin.gif

Paul Wynant
Moscow, Russia

This post has been edited by p2u: 13.08.2006 12:31


--------------------
Adblock Plus content blocking filter: * (= show text only anywhere)
Exception rule for all: @@*$stylesheet (= show style sheet only anywhere)
Default exception rule for white-listed sites: domain name/$background,image (= images only from that domain only; no scripts, objects, or other elements)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blurr
post 13.08.2006 21:23
Post #17


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 10.08.2006




I don't think Kaspersky hosts popups either...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
p2u
post 13.08.2006 22:32
Post #18


Guest
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 7775
Joined: 7.12.2005
From: Ring 0




QUOTE(Blurr @ 13.08.2006 21:23)
I don't think Kaspersky hosts popups either...
*


I was just kidding, Blurr... I don't see a pop-up because I have scripts disabled. If Ron says there's a pop-up there, there is one, trust me... smile.gif

Paul Wynant
Moscow, Russia


--------------------
Adblock Plus content blocking filter: * (= show text only anywhere)
Exception rule for all: @@*$stylesheet (= show style sheet only anywhere)
Default exception rule for white-listed sites: domain name/$background,image (= images only from that domain only; no scripts, objects, or other elements)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemesi
post 14.08.2006 01:31
Post #19


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 22.07.2006
From: Italy




QUOTE(Blurr @ 13.08.2006 07:37)
I don't think we'll be getting a reply from Nemesi.
*


Well, I just changed some things in my pc, so I stayed offline for I while then I forgot about this...

I'm still using both Firefox and KIS, I don't have problems with FF pop-up blocker, it was that before (with Norton) I did not see the pop-up blocked bar and I was wondering why it continued to appear even if pop-up block was turned on in KIS.

I know pop-up blocker in FF isn't the best (thanks for the extension links), but for the moment is good for me, and KIS is doing a great work in "blocking" other things, so I'm going on using them...

Thanks... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sall
post 14.08.2006 06:20
Post #20


Kaspersky Fan I
********

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 1468
Joined: 6.01.2006




QUOTE(Nemesi @ 13.08.2006 21:31)
Well, I just changed some things in my pc, so I stayed offline for I while then I forgot about this...

I'm still using both Firefox and KIS, I don't have problems with FF pop-up blocker, it was that before (with Norton) I did not see the pop-up blocked bar and I was wondering why it continued to appear even if pop-up block was turned on in KIS.

I know pop-up blocker in FF isn't the best (thanks for the extension links), but for the moment is good for me, and KIS is doing a great work in "blocking" other things, so I'm going on using them...

Thanks... smile.gif
*


Good choice cool.gif wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22.10.2014 07:11