IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> Internet Speed - Choppy, Internet Speed - Choppy
StratDoc
post 16.01.2010 18:07
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




I searched the forums and didn't really find anything that addresses this question so I am starting a new post. I am new to Kapersky - read great reviews about the product - and installed it two weeks ago on after doing a clean install of win 7 64 bit on a new hdd. In general Kapersky seems to be working fine except that my internet speed is very choppy when downloading files, surfing the web, playing online games, etc. Ping rates will spike unexpectedly, downloads will fluctuate from 0 kbps/sec and then suddenly spike to a respectable speed, games will unexpectedly lag, etc. When I pause or turn off Kapersky these problems go away. I can also solve the problem by going to "my security zone" "applications" click on the application and then change the settings under exclusion to "do not scan network traffic". However, this seems to defeat the purpose of having Kapersky installed. I am wondering if I am missing something since I am not very familiar with the product at this point.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 16.01.2010 18:33
Post #2


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9299
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




For applications with high traffic transfer, such as online games or downloading utilities, "do not scan network traffic" sounds like a reasonable thing to do in my opinion. I would also go one step further for games and also tick "do not scan opened files".

Ensure Web-AV is set to "limit buffering time" to 1 second.
Attach a link to your PC's GSI parser to your next post. Instructions shown at the bottom of this post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 16.01.2010 19:12
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




Thanks for the advice. I will try your suggestions. In the mean time here is a link to the system info log.

http://www.getsysteminfo.com/read.php?file...e6162b&ms=0

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 17.01.2010 17:15
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




Okay, the only way I can seem to get a smooth game play and downloads is by turning the scanning of network traffic. Limit fragment buffering time appears to be set to 1 second as the default so there was no need to change that setting. I don't really like the idea of turning off network traffic scanning. Any other suggestions based on my log file?

BTW, very powerful software. It has been fun getting to know the features while trying to solve this issue.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dawgg
post 17.01.2010 18:55
Post #5


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 9299
Joined: 6.04.2006
From: London




Just confirming, you are disabling scanning of network traffic only for the game and not for the whole of Kaspersky, correct?

Other possibly related suggestion is to ensure Windows Firewall is disabled

Other than that, no direct related suggestions I can think of other than general suggestions I advise if you have Kaspersky installed:
1. Disable Windows Defender
2. Disable SearchIndexer if you do not use it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TMDodds
post 19.01.2010 21:07
Post #6


Technical Support Specialist
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 15.01.2010




Hi there,

Can you please double click the kaspersky icon

Choose settings

Choose network

Select

Untick ports 443 and 80

Apply and ok

Now can you try the websites that you were previously unable to access.

Kind regards,

Thomas
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 20.01.2010 08:59
Post #7


Kaspersky Fan II
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 2157
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon-Athens Hellas (Greece)




Stratdoc :
All those are from yr GSI Parser (unknown)
C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\install\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\install\setup.exe

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\ [7] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\IDEDrvSetup.exe
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xIDE64Setup.exe
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xIDESetup.exe
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xInsD64.dll
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xInsDrv.dll
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xLhDrv.dll
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xLink.exe

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\x64\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\x64\xLhD64.dll

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_n52te_win_driver_v212.zip\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_n52te_win_driver_v212.zip\n52te_win_driver_v2.1.2.exe

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\wzee16\HDDScan3.2-release\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\wzee16\HDDScan3.2-release\HDDScan.exe

PLUS from (SUSPICIOUS) :

firefox.exe [1] => Filename C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Defender\MpOAV.dll - Microsoft� Windows� Operating System (THAT SHOULD BE DISABLED)


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scanned folders

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\{660F5DDE-4970-48CC-9997-BA1753154989}\{7F3AD00A-1819-4B15-BB7D-08B3586336D7}\ [1] => Filename C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\{660F5DDE-4970-48CC-9997-BA1753154989}\{7F3AD00A-1819-4B15-BB7D-08B3586336D7}\askToolbarInstaller.exe - Ask Toolbar (That should be disabed or removed Also!!!!!!!!!!!)

This post has been edited by ibok: 20.01.2010 09:01


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 23.01.2010 18:09
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




QUOTE(ibok @ 19.01.2010 22:59) *
Stratdoc :
All those are from yr GSI Parser (unknown)
C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\install\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\install\setup.exe

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\ [7] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\IDEDrvSetup.exe
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xIDE64Setup.exe
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xIDESetup.exe
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xInsD64.dll
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xInsDrv.dll
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xLhDrv.dll
=> C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\xLink.exe

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\x64\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_JMicron_RAID_AP_MB.zip\NoIDE\Application\x64\xLhD64.dll

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_n52te_win_driver_v212.zip\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_n52te_win_driver_v212.zip\n52te_win_driver_v2.1.2.exe

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\wzee16\HDDScan3.2-release\ [1] => C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\wzee16\HDDScan3.2-release\HDDScan.exe

PLUS from (SUSPICIOUS) :

firefox.exe [1] => Filename C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Defender\MpOAV.dll - Microsoft� Windows� Operating System (THAT SHOULD BE DISABLED)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scanned folders

C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\{660F5DDE-4970-48CC-9997-BA1753154989}\{7F3AD00A-1819-4B15-BB7D-08B3586336D7}\ [1] => Filename C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\{660F5DDE-4970-48CC-9997-BA1753154989}\{7F3AD00A-1819-4B15-BB7D-08B3586336D7}\askToolbarInstaller.exe - Ask Toolbar (That should be disabed or removed Also!!!!!!!!!!!)



Thanks for the great suggestions. Regarding the last post I have a couple of questions. Concerning MpOav.dll - I have disabled Windows Defender through gpedit.msc just to be sure that it is really off. Does this take care of the MpOav.dll file issue? Second, I haven't installed askToolbarInstaller.exe so you are saying I should remove the installer program? Last, and this refers to the Temp files. Kapersky every once in a while tells me there is a suspicious program that wants to run - typically it is a setup.exe installer program. What is odd is that I am not trying to run the program, and the installer programs are legitimate - patch upgrades for games. I finally just started marking them as "not trusted" so I would not keep getting the message. Should I just delete them?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 24.01.2010 03:55
Post #9


Kaspersky Fan II
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 2157
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon-Athens Hellas (Greece)




QUOTE(StratDoc @ 23.01.2010 16:09) *
Thanks for the great suggestions. Regarding the last post I have a couple of questions. Concerning MpOav.dll - I have disabled Windows Defender through gpedit.msc just to be sure that it is really off. Does this take care of the MpOav.dll file issue? Second, I haven't installed askToolbarInstaller.exe so you are saying I should remove the installer program? Last, and this refers to the Temp files. Kapersky every once in a while tells me there is a suspicious program that wants to run - typically it is a setup.exe installer program. What is odd is that I am not trying to run the program, and the installer programs are legitimate - patch upgrades for games. I finally just started marking them as "not trusted" so I would not keep getting the message. Should I just delete them?


No W.Defender should be diasabled only through Control Panel then open W.D. and in untick everything untill the bottom of the page.
If you do that and you try to open W.D. you get a picture like this.( in the screenshot).
All the rest should be cleaned with the 2 applications .
1.CCleaner you can download from here :

http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/

Without installing yahootoolbar plus you can use that :

http://www.macecraft.com/ptlite/

Power Tools Lite with that you can "FIX"everything that can be "FIXED"
Do that and tell us again.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  WINDOWS_DEFENDER_IS_OFF.JPG ( 33.01K ) Number of downloads: 13
 


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 24.01.2010 20:32
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




Thanks for the links. I ran both programs and fixed any errors reported. I can't turn off WD through control panel. I am logged on as an administrator, but it tells me that a group policy rule will not let me turn it off - most of the boxes are grayed out. Again, I am able to disable it through gpedit.

To date here is what I have done.
1) turned off windows firewall
2) set limit fragment buffer time to 1 sec
3) Set "do not scan open files" and "do not scan network activity" for select on-line games
4) turned off windows defender through gpedit - don't have the option to turn it off through control panel despite administrative access
5) fixed all errors reported through ccCleaner and PowerTools Lite

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 24.01.2010 20:51
Post #11


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




QUOTE(StratDoc @ 24.01.2010 10:32) *
Thanks for the links. I ran both programs and fixed any errors reported. I can't turn off WD through control panel. I am logged on as an administrator, but it tells me that a group policy rule will not let me turn it off - most of the boxes are grayed out. Again, I am able to disable it through gpedit.

To date here is what I have done.
1) turned off windows firewall
2) set limit fragment buffer time to 1 sec
3) Set "do not scan open files" and "do not scan network activity" for select on-line games
4) turned off windows defender through gpedit - don't have the option to turn it off through control panel despite administrative access
5) fixed all errors reported through ccCleaner and PowerTools Lite




One more strange thing that I just now noticed. I was trying to figure out how to turn off WD through control panel and decided to check Windows Firewall. I disabled it based on an earlier suggestion. I tried re-enabling it but get a very strange error message. "Windows Firewall can't change some of your settings. Error code 0x80070422.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 24.01.2010 21:28
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




QUOTE(StratDoc @ 24.01.2010 10:51) *
One more strange thing that I just now noticed. I was trying to figure out how to turn off WD through control panel and decided to check Windows Firewall. I disabled it based on an earlier suggestion. I tried re-enabling it but get a very strange error message. "Windows Firewall can't change some of your settings. Error code 0x80070422.


I fixed the error code. I went to services and set Windows Firewall to manual. I could then access the administrative functions. Still no luck with WD. I have to disable it through gpedit, or in services.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 24.01.2010 23:11
Post #13


Kaspersky Fan II
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 2157
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon-Athens Hellas (Greece)




Look even so does yr PC works as it should??? Or Not????
Regarding W.D. I never touch it in services ( It runs automatic) I disable it through control panel.


--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StratDoc
post 25.01.2010 17:16
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 16.01.2010




QUOTE(ibok @ 24.01.2010 13:11) *
Look even so does yr PC works as it should??? Or Not????
Regarding W.D. I never touch it in services ( It runs automatic) I disable it through control panel.



Yes, everything works as should. Internet download is still choppy but doesn't appear to be anything I can do about it.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibok
post 25.01.2010 21:36
Post #15


Kaspersky Fan II
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 2157
Joined: 7.08.2005
From: Dark Side of the Moon-Athens Hellas (Greece)




QUOTE(StratDoc @ 25.01.2010 15:16) *
Yes, everything works as should. Internet download is still choppy but doesn't appear to be anything I can do about it.

Thanks for everyone's help.

I told you everything I could tell you to do.But regarding the "choppy" Internet download I really donnot know what to tell you.
















--------------------
“Kill a man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill everyone, and you are a god.”
Jean Rostand (1894 - 1977)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24.07.2014 16:18