IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Full scan takes hours to complete and slows down my computer while it scans. [Merged], with Same.
mocca122009
post 12.12.2009 09:31
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12.12.2009




Full scan takes hours to complete and slows down my computer while it scans. in addition to this, when it finishes sometimes it starts again eventhough it is set to do it every 12 hours

Could you please help me

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 12.12.2009 09:58
Post #2


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000066
Joined: 14.06.2007




Welcome. You posted in both Home and Business sections, so let's start off with some basic information, including what Kaspersky product, etc. Please post your GetSystemInfo report link, instructions are located in the sixth Important topic.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Insanity593
post 12.12.2009 17:15
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 10.12.2009




It is very likely that your PC is lacking the hardware to do fast scans - normally when scanning you want to leave your PC idle and let it scan, it's very intensive on CPU/RAM/Reading Harddisk space when any anti-virus software scans.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mocca122009
post 12.12.2009 17:57
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12.12.2009




QUOTE(richbuff @ 12.12.2009 00:58) *
Welcome. You posted in both Home and Business sections, so let's start off with some basic information, including what Kaspersky product, etc. Please post your GetSystemInfo report link, instructions are located in the sixth Important topic.


Good morning,

Here is the information:

My operating system is Windows Vista Home Premium x64 Edition service Pack 2 (build 6002)
RAM = 8GB
Processor: 2.60GHz
Kaspersky Internet Security 2010, Version: 9.0.0.463 (b.c)

I don't understand how to get the link you talk about in the post. I have the zip file. How do i get the link?

Best Regards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antikythera
post 12.12.2009 20:38
Post #5


ICT Consultant
*************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 4688
Joined: 11.09.2009
From: The Land That Time Forgot




http://gsi.kaspersky.fr/ upload the zip file to the address on the left. it will be processed and appear as a webpage. copy the webpage address from your browser and paste it here in the forum


--------------------
Nothing to see here, move along!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mocca122009
post 12.12.2009 23:13
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12.12.2009




QUOTE(antikythera @ 12.12.2009 11:38) *
http://gsi.kaspersky.fr/ upload the zip file to the address on the left. it will be processed and appear as a webpage. copy the webpage address from your browser and paste it here in the forum


Hi

Here is the address http://www.getsysteminfo.com/read.php?file...033ca36fa136074

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
antikythera
post 13.12.2009 01:16
Post #7


ICT Consultant
*************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 4688
Joined: 11.09.2009
From: The Land That Time Forgot




there aren't any major issues which should slow it down other than Windows Defender being enabled. You should disable this program for maximum stability and performance of Kaspersky 2010.

Also, the newer version 9.0.736 performs better on most systems than the version you have installed so give it a try. You can download it from http://www.kaspersky.com/productupdates.

Best way to install is as follows. Download it then disconnect from the internet. Remove the installed version but tick the option to retain the activation data. Reboot the PC and install the downloaded application. Reconnect to the internet to download all available updates. Reboot the PC and check for any further updates. If any more are applied, reboot a final time and you will have the latest build 9.0.736b installed properly.

Once you have run a full scan once, the same process should get quicker once iSwift and iChecker have built up the data they need from this.


--------------------
Nothing to see here, move along!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mocca122009
post 13.12.2009 06:07
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12.12.2009




QUOTE(antikythera @ 12.12.2009 16:16) *
there aren't any major issues which should slow it down other than Windows Defender being enabled. You should disable this program for maximum stability and performance of Kaspersky 2010.

Also, the newer version 9.0.736 performs better on most systems than the version you have installed so give it a try. You can download it from http://www.kaspersky.com/productupdates.

Best way to install is as follows. Download it then disconnect from the internet. Remove the installed version but tick the option to retain the activation data. Reboot the PC and install the downloaded application. Reconnect to the internet to download all available updates. Reboot the PC and check for any further updates. If any more are applied, reboot a final time and you will have the latest build 9.0.736b installed properly.

Once you have run a full scan once, the same process should get quicker once iSwift and iChecker have built up the data they need from this.



Thank you for your help

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mocca122009
post 12.01.2010 08:57
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12.12.2009




Hi,

I disabled windows defender and firewall and still Kaspersky 2010 is taking more than five hours to complete a full scan. I have 1000GB in the C drive and 75% is free.

The previous version I had 2009 did not have this problem.



I am very disappointed with the performance of kaspersky 2010.


Here is the information:


My operating system is Windows Vista Home Premium x64 Edition service Pack 2 (build 6002)
RAM = 8GB
Processor: 2.60GHz
Kaspersky Internet Security 2010, Version: 9.0.0.463 (b.c)


Best Regards
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lapalm
post 12.01.2010 10:16
Post #10


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 418
Joined: 16.06.2008




QUOTE(mocca122009 @ 12.12.2009 14:13) *

1. A lot of "The Windows Update service hung on starting." 2. "The Norton Internet Security service failed to start due to the following error: The system cannot find the path specified" Norton removal tool may be helpful. 3. The gsi event are dated December. Don't know if it matters. And 4. "The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load: i8042prt SRTSP SRTSPX". I gotta google that one. smile.gif

PS Your system's almost a twin for mine. My Full scan take about 17 minutes. Good luck.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lapalm
post 12.01.2010 13:30
Post #11


Advanced Member II
****

Group: Members
Posts: 418
Joined: 16.06.2008




QUOTE(mocca122009 @ 12.12.2009 14:13) *

Current summary,

1. Imo, the Update service failed to load errors indicate you have a version of the problem discussed here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950375 and here http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library...148(WS.10).aspx . The pc generated the event id 10 error associated with installing Vista sp1. Except, no bsods, instead you get Update failed to start. You apparently installed sp2 at the same time. I think all your problems will disappear once you install sp3. Because Microsoft fixed it.

2. I don't Norton is involved, if you disregard the Norton couldn't load errors.

3. As for the boot driver failure: "The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load: i8042prt SRTSP SRTSPX". It could mean mouse or keyboard or SRTSP could equal Symantec Real Time Storage Protection.

I Ain't No Expert smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adhtz21
post 13.01.2010 19:00
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 13.01.2010




Hi. I am new to this forum and Kaspersky. I have installed the trial version of the security suite 2010 as I was suffering with a slow PC due to having norton anti virus and zone alarm pro on the same desktop. Kaspersky seems like it could be impressive apart from the fact that the initial scan has been going on for days now and shows no sign of completion. Total scan is now showing 111482. I have disabled screen saver. I would estimate that the scan has been in the region of 15 to 20 hours. Is this normal? When is it likely to complete? The speed of my PC is better and I do not get the browser hanging problem anymore. I removed norton with the symantec removal tool. I also removed windows defender. Any advice would gratefully be received. Thanks, Andy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dh27564
post 13.01.2010 19:03
Post #13


Posting guru
*************

Group: Members
Posts: 4618
Joined: 6.06.2009
From: KCLE




adhtz21:

What you are probably seeing is the real time scanner. Kaspersky scans files as you open, close, save, etc. The number represents the total number of the files that have been scanned since installation and will continue to increase. It is not suppose to affect computer performance. See this for more information:

http://support.kaspersky.com/kis2010/prote...l?qid=208280547

This post has been edited by dh27564: 13.01.2010 19:04


--------------------
D. Henderson
Cleveland, Ohio USA
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mocca122009
post 14.01.2010 05:55
Post #14


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 12.12.2009




Thank you for your reply lapalm.

I checked in the registry for norton and I removed some symantec files and restart the computer. I also removed unnecessary programs from the startup but the performance did not improve.
I then started a full scan but it did not improve it is taking approximately 10 hours to complete a full scan.

When I had Kaspersky 2009 I did not have this problem.

How can I fix this problem.

Thank you

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jbw
post 19.06.2010 22:47
Post #15


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15.02.2010




I have a similar problem with c. 5hr scans. Am new to all of this (and clueless with pc's) , but hope the below is right.....
Version 9.0.0.736
Windows XP Home sp 3




http://www.getsysteminfo.com/read.php?file...72e50f525ef65cf


Thanks v much!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 19.06.2010 22:57
Post #16


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9209
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




QUOTE(jbw @ 19.06.2010 10:47) *
I have a similar problem with c. 5hr scans. Am new to all of this (and clueless with pc's) , but hope the below is right.....
Version 9.0.0.736
Windows XP Home sp 3
http://www.getsysteminfo.com/read.php?file...72e50f525ef65cf
Thanks v much!



Welcome.

Uninstall Symantec KB-DocID:2003093015493306 via control panel add/remove programs. Reboot.

Click Here and follow the instructions for Removal of Norton even if it has already been uninstalled.

If still having issues then repost a fresh GSI report.

This post has been edited by rudger79: 19.06.2010 22:57


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jbw
post 20.06.2010 02:20
Post #17


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15.02.2010




QUOTE(rudger79 @ 19.06.2010 21:57) *
Welcome.

Uninstall Symantec KB-DocID:2003093015493306 via control panel add/remove programs. Reboot.

Click Here and follow the instructions for Removal of Norton even if it has already been uninstalled.

If still having issues then repost a fresh GSI report.



In 'add/remove programs', nothing that looks anything like 'symantec'???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 20.06.2010 02:23
Post #18


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9209
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




QUOTE(jbw @ 19.06.2010 14:20) *
In 'add/remove programs', nothing that looks anything like 'symantec'???

Hi. Please proceed with rest of the instructions.


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2015 MR1 15.0.1.415
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jbw
post 22.06.2010 00:46
Post #19


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15.02.2010




QUOTE(rudger79 @ 20.06.2010 01:23) *
Hi. Please proceed with rest of the instructions.



Did the removal etc as per instructions. New report below.

Thx




http://www.getsysteminfo.com/read.php?file...8fa731eb1bca74c

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 22.06.2010 02:30
Post #20


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000066
Joined: 14.06.2007




Free up three more GB of disk space on C to equal 15% free space, and then do two defrags and a diskcheck.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23.10.2014 13:21