IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> RootKit issues
millertime
post 17.03.2009 02:01
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17.03.2009




I would like to know if this software will indeed fix any rootkit and or bios issues.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Baz^^
post 17.03.2009 02:04
Post #2


Wrestling Champion
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8799
Joined: 10.03.2007




Hi,

Rootkits, yes.

BIOS- no.

The BIOS is a part of your motherboard and cannot be altered by Kaspersky (or malware-for any feasable malicious purpose)


--------------------
Kind Regards,

Baz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 17.03.2009 02:05
Post #3


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000066
Joined: 14.06.2007




Welcome. Rootkits, yes, "...any...", not 100%. Bios issues: Please describe.


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
millertime
post 17.03.2009 02:08
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17.03.2009




I have limited my issues here down to rootkit.
Being as of yesterday the HD was replaced bran new and windows has been reinstalled, there are no other options.
All I would really like is to get the rootkit fixed. sad.gif
Easy options for this maybe?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Baz^^
post 17.03.2009 02:11
Post #5


Wrestling Champion
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8799
Joined: 10.03.2007




What exactly is it that leads you to beleive you have a rootkit...symptoms, problems?


--------------------
Kind Regards,

Baz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
millertime
post 17.03.2009 03:20
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 17.03.2009




As stated above, I have within the last 24 hours, installed a bran new HD and installed windows on that.
I hae for better then a month now, been getting slow pc and internet speeds.
During this time, I have been round and round with my ISP who has now been here 5 times.
Today they sent out one of their software techs that sat here for about 2 hours with 2 computers from the company running tests on speed and connectivity. He has recommended that being as now, all the lines have been replaced, the HD is new and a fresh copy of windows has been installed, the only other option is rootkit. There were no issues at all on the other 2 pc's that were here and hooked up.

If you have another another solution, I am all ears.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
richbuff
post 17.03.2009 03:31
Post #7


Are You Kidding?
*****************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 1000066
Joined: 14.06.2007




Please create gsi sysinfo text, upload it to this parser site: http://gsi.kaspersky.fr/ and post link to the GSI report which will provide some basic information and also may identify issue area, instructions see: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=36444


--------------------
Please see the Important topics, located at the top of this section, and at the top of other sections of this forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Baz^^
post 17.03.2009 03:44
Post #8


Wrestling Champion
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 8799
Joined: 10.03.2007




A slow running computer does not necessarily indicate a rootkit infection. I have a feeling that "tech" was trying to fob you off for some reason.
It could simply be that there are many programs running in the background or the pc is based on older hardware. Post a GSI log and we can give some possible avenues for investigation.


--------------------
Kind Regards,

Baz
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23.10.2014 23:14