IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kaspersky and Ad-aware
Dotasense
post 28.01.2009 02:14
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 23.01.2009




I have Kaspersky Anti Virus 2009 and Ad-aware version 8.0.1 (Anniversary Edition) installed on my laptop. Is it ok if i turn on Ad-Watch Live! even i have Kaspersky Anti Virus 2009 running on my laptop ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Littlem129
post 28.01.2009 10:21
Post #2


Advanced Member IV
******

Group: Members
Posts: 733
Joined: 12.09.2006
From: Tennessee, USA




Do a search here for AdAware or compatible anti-spyware programs and see if anyone has tried using Ad-Watch Live with KAV.

I don't use it myself so I'm not sure if it is compatible with KAV or not.

If you try it post back with the results in case anyone else is interested. wink.gif











--------------------
Kaspersky, protection you can depend on!

KIS 14.0.0.4651(d)
WIN 7 SP1 3GB RAM
DSL
MBAM (on demand scan only)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Don Pelotas
post 28.01.2009 10:22
Post #3


Global Moderator
****************

Group: Global moderators

Posts: 28858
Joined: 7.04.2005




I wouldn't do it....i would use it as a scanner/second opinion.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dotasense
post 28.01.2009 18:07
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 23.01.2009




Thanks for the reply... I did the search but not found the good answer, most people suggest to turn off any other real-time protection to avoid any conflict with the primary anti-virus protection. Well, i myself have Ad-Watch Live! disabled to save my system resources.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
art101
post 6.03.2009 03:39
Post #5


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 27.02.2009




i'm glad someone else wondered about this question and posted it.

i presume K internet suite does what ad-aware live is supposed to do so i guess i'll turn mine off. i'm not as concerned about saving system resources as i am about conflicts but both are pretty good reasons IF K internet suite is actively checking everything that happens in real time.



QUOTE(Dotasense @ 28.01.2009 04:07) *
Thanks for the reply... I did the search but not found the good answer, most people suggest to turn off any other real-time protection to avoid any conflict with the primary anti-virus protection. Well, i myself have Ad-Watch Live! disabled to save my system resources.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maschoff
post 10.03.2009 22:53
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10.03.2009




After installing Adaware anniversary edition, and running Ad-Watch Live, KASP no longer loads all components. I've tried repairing the program but to no avail.

Any ideas? Adaware and spybot have been uninstalled.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DonKid
post 10.03.2009 23:06
Post #7


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Moderators
Posts: 7120
Joined: 19.10.2005
From: São Paulo, Brazil




Please, post a GSI log.


--------------------
When the humanity start to realize that there isn't race, creed, politics, money, our planet will be wonderful. Be always a humble person.

Antes de abrir um novo tópico Relatório GSI Suporte Técnico em Portugal Suporte Técnico no Brasil Threatpost Blog da Kaspersky
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maschoff
post 11.03.2009 00:27
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10.03.2009




QUOTE(DonKid @ 10.03.2009 22:06) *
Please, post a GSI log.

More specifically, the intrusion detection system does not start.

My apologies, but please provide info as to how to locate GSI log.

Poor Senna ...

Thanks for your help

This post has been edited by maschoff: 11.03.2009 00:27
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rudger79
post 11.03.2009 00:41
Post #9


Forum Elite
**************

Group: Gold beta testers
Posts: 9122
Joined: 20.10.2008
From: Kodiak USA




QUOTE(maschoff @ 10.03.2009 11:27) *
....please provide info as to how to locate GSI log


Click on the letters GSI in DonKids post and scroll down and the instructions are there. smile.gif


--------------------
2015 Beta Test Machine specs: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, Real Machine (laptop), 4GB Ram No OEM stuff. My GSI Report Link

________________________________________________________________________________
1.Laptop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x64 4gb - FF latest -
KIS 2015 Beta
2.Desktop -
Windows 7 Pro SP 1 x86 4gb - FF latest - KIS 2014
_______________________________________________________________________

My Kaspersky Account Kaspersky Support Ticket Request to Kaspersky Virus Lab Link to GSI Report Instructions Kaspersky Latest Product Versions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maschoff
post 11.03.2009 01:20
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10.03.2009




Link didn't work the first time, thanks.

I actually upgraded to version 8.0 and all is fine now.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dieselman
post 11.03.2009 01:30
Post #11


Advanced Member III
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 536
Joined: 8.03.2009




Honestly Ad Aware is a joke and its detection rate is horrible. SuperAntiSoyware and Malware Bytes are far superior and are great on demand scanners. Ad Aware installs needless running processes. If you doublt me then just watch Matt's reviews over at Remove-Malware.com I myself have tested Ad Aware and it cannot remove most infections that SAS and MBAM can.




http://remove-malware.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N69mL3zS4YE...re=channel_page


--------------------



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
art101
post 11.03.2009 03:50
Post #12


Advanced Member I
***

Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 27.02.2009




SuperAntiSoyware?!? damn, those viruses are getting into everything now!!! b_lol1.gif



QUOTE(Dieselman @ 10.03.2009 11:30) *
SuperAntiSoyware and Malware Bytes are far superior and are great on demand scanners.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dieselman
post 11.03.2009 06:01
Post #13


Advanced Member III
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 536
Joined: 8.03.2009




QUOTE(art101 @ 10.03.2009 19:50) *
SuperAntiSoyware?!? damn, those viruses are getting into everything now!!! b_lol1.gif



LOL.......caught my typo. Ok here it is "SuperAntiSpyware". b_lol1.gif


--------------------



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
charlesT
post 11.03.2009 06:08
Post #14


Advanced Member V
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 1109
Joined: 4.09.2008
From: North Carolina, USA




QUOTE(Dotasense @ 27.01.2009 17:14) *
I have Kaspersky Anti Virus 2009 and Ad-aware version 8.0.1 (Anniversary Edition) installed on my laptop. Is it ok if i turn on Ad-Watch Live! even i have Kaspersky Anti Virus 2009 running on my laptop ?


@Dotasense

I have used the free version of Ad-aware(I dont know if Ad-Watch Live is active in the free version of Ad-Aware) as a second opinion type scanner as Don mentioned on KIS and seemed to function just fine , but I actually liked the SAS or MBAM compaired to Ad-Aware and they are both free or buy(I actually have used both of the paid versions of those along with KIS as well ) and they both work great

PS. I only have one installed(SAS,MBAM) of those but do switch out once and a while cool.gif

This post has been edited by charlesT: 11.03.2009 06:13
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1.09.2014 15:14